Genre: Jazz
Label: Doxy
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Billie Holiday The Commodore Days 180g LP

Billie Holiday

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Historic Billie Holiday Recordings on 180g Vinyl!

In 1939 when Billie Holiday's label refused to record the highly controversial 'Strange Fruit', she did not give up, but searched desperately for a label that was not afraid to take a risk. Thankfully Milt Gabler at Commodore Records, a fledgling independent jazz label, understood the importance of this song being recorded and released to the public and soon arranged for Holiday to record a session with him. The 'Strange Fruit session' for Commodore, was one of those historic moments and part of Billie Holiday's legend hinges on the tremendous courage it took for her go ahead and record this song, knowing that it might well mean the end of her career. Three other songs, found here, were also recorded at that session: 'Yesterdays', 'Fine And Mellow' and 'I Gotta Right To Sing the Blues', while due to contractual issues, the remaining Commodore sides were not recorded until five years later in 1944.

• 180g Vinyl

Side 1:

1. Strange Fruit
2. Yesterdays
3. Fine And Mellow
4. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
5. How Am I To Know
6. My Old Flame
7. I'll Get By
8. I Cover The Waterfront
Side 2:
1. I'll Be Seeing You
2. I'm Yours
3. Embraceable You
4. As Time Goes By
5. He's Funny That Way
6. Lover, Come Back To Me
7. Billie's Blues
8. On The Sunny Side Of The Street

Customers Also Like