Genre: Alternative
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Bjork Gling-Glo LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

1990 Album Reissued on Vinyl LP!

Gling-Gló is the first and only studio album by Björk Guðmundsdóttir and tríó Guðmundar Ingólfssonar, consisting of Björk Guðmundsdóttir on vocals, Guðmundur Ingólfsson on piano, Guðmundur Steingrímsson on drums, and Þórður Högnason on bass. "Gling-gló" is an Icelandic onomatopoeia whose English equivalent is "ding dong", or the sound that a bell makes.

Several of these songs are covers of jazz standards translated and sung in Icelandic. Three are sung with a noticeably different musical arrangement: "Bílavísur" (originally "The Blacksmith Blues"), "Ég veit ei hvað skal segia" (Theresa Brewer's "Ricochet Romance") and "Pabbi minn" ("O Mein Papa").

Björk's elastic, somersaulting voice is right at home delivering these traditional Icelandic and jazz tunes. Happy songs performed by Björk with the Icelandic jazz group Gudmundar Ingólfssonar Trio really showcase her voice and reveal how her unique singing style shares some common ground with scatting. Björk performed with this trio a few times before they recorded Gling Glo, and everyone must've had a good time, because the album captures the group moving through a mixture of jazz numbers and Icelandic songs with a free and easy feel.
-Joslyn Layne, AllMusic


  • Vinyl LP


Side A:

  1. Gling Gló
  2. Luktar-Gvendur
  3. Kata Rokkar
  4. Pabbi Minn
  5. Brestir Og Brak
  6. Ástartöfrar
  7. Bella Símamær

Side B:

  1. Litli Tónlistarmaðurinn
  2. Það Sést Ekki Sætari Mey
  3. Bílavísur
  4. Tondeleyo
  5. Ég Veit Ei Hvað Skal Segja
  6. Í Dansi Með Þér
  7. Börnin Við Tjörnina

Customers Also Like