Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Black Dub Black Dub 180g Import 2LP

Black Dub

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl! Features Daniel Lanois, Trixie Whitley, Brian Blade, and Daryl Johnson!

Black Dub is the debut album by the Daniel Lanois-instigated collaboration Black Dub. The quartet, comprised of producer Daniel Lanois on guitar and vocals, jazz drummer extraordinaire Brian Blade, session bassist Daryl Johnson, and vocalist/keyboardist Trixie Whitley (daughter of the late great Chris Whitley) make a beguiling, seductive music that blurs Rock, Soul, Blues, gothic Americana, New Orleans Funk, and dubwise Reggae.

The band generated significant excitement when they released stark, black-and-white videos of their rehearsals and leaked concert footage from a show at Bowery Ballroom in New York. All songs on Black Dub are written by Lanois, save for two, the group effort "Last Time" and the song "Ring The Alarm" written by Tenor Saw. The ballads "I Believe in You," "Surely," "Silverado," and "Nomad" are stellar showcases for Whitley's deeply soulful contralto. She rises above the band and soars, delivering these lyrics as if they are her own; she goes straight to the heart of the listener with that voice, regardless of genre.

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Insert
• Includes etched D-side
• Import

LP 1 - Side A:

1. Love Lives
2. I Believe In You
3. Ring The Alarm
4. Last Time
LP 1 - Side B:
1. Surely
2. Nomad
3. Slow Baby
4. Silverado

LP 2 - Side C:

1. Canaan
2. Sing
3. Sirens
LP 2 - Side D:

Customers Also Like