Blue Coast Collection The E.S.E. Sessions Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Blue Coast Collection

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
A Highly Recommended, Must-Have SACD!
A New Standard in Audio Excellence! Exceptional Acoustic Recording!

Blue Coast sets a new standard in audio excellence. The award winning collection of songs has been recognized by audiophiles and casual listeners for its sonic precision combined with passionate musical performances. Performed in the studio without the use of headphones, overdubs or digital effects, these sessions led to a proprietary recording technique called Extended Sound Environment (E.S.E.) E.S.E. creates a holographic sensation for both surround and stereo recordings through microphone placement and allows the musicians a more dynamic performance. We hope you have as much enjoyment listening as we did making it.

Blue Coast Records' first release features exceptional acoustic recordings performed live in the studio without the use of headphones, overdubs or digital effects. Label founder, and five time Grammy nominated producer/engineer, Cookie Marenco, assembled a cast of world-class performers, engineers and technicians familiar with her passion for audio excellence and appreciation of skilled musicianship. Done in DSD, the sound take uses E.S.E. technology, a patented technique Cookie Marenco developed with Jean-Claude Reynaud. B&K microphones, silver audio cables specially created for these sessions, and a sound take excluding all digital tricks and awkward phase rotations produce a truth of restitution that stands out of the ordinary. On this sampler disc, Blue Coast are in direct contact with great artists. Voices are sublime, the authenticity of the guitars is amazing and the standing bass in the finale is even more astounding.

Exceptional acoustic recording! Blue Coast Records recorded the original tracks with a surround listening experience in mind. They were recorded, monitored and mixed for 5.1 ITU configuration and may also be enjoyed on traditional surround systems and stereo cd players.

The music was recorded to 2" tape using Dolby SR. The surround version was mixed to Direct Stream Digital on the Sonoma System. The stereo layers were mixed to 1/2" tape. During the recording a Jean Marie Reynaud Offrande surround speaker system was used for monitoring with JMR silver cable wiring throughout recording and playback systems. Microphones from Didrik DeGeer and DPA/B&K were used with preamps by Millennia, Manley and Didrik.

A combination of direct and room mic placements contribute to the Extended Sound Environment (E.S.E.) recording technique enhancing both the surround and stereo listening experience.

"Those who enjoy the intimacy of Norah Jones or Windham Hill will love this music. The sound production is so clear you can drink from the tap!" - Allen Butler, president of Sony Music Nashville 1993-2003

"One of the most natural sounding recordings I've ever heard. Very Enjoyable." - David Schwartz, founder of Mix Magazine

"Listening to the CD made my speakers disappear and suddenly I was with the musicians." - Bob Vieira, musician/composer

"Surround listening traditionally offers only one optimum listening position: in the center of the five channels. Our technique is a three-dimensional approach to multi-channel audio, offering the listener the ability to move outside the circle and walk 'through' the sound field." - Cookie Marenco, producer and founder of Blue Coast Records

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Keith Greeninger, guitar, vocals (1,7)
Dayan Kai, dobro, backup vocals, guitar (1,7)
Jane Selkye, guitar, vocals (2,8)
Chris Key, acoustic bass (2,8)
Jason McGuire, nylon string guitar (3,9)
Jose M. Blanco, vocals (3)
Rob Ickes, dobro (4,11)
Tony Furtado, slide guitar (4)
Garett Brennan, guitar, vocals (10)
Glen Moore, acoustic bowed bass (12)

1. Looking for a Home
2. Slow Day
3. Lilianna
4. Darcy Farrow
5. The Dog Song
6. Tamalpais
7. Immediately Blessed
8. In Love Before the Last Call
9. Romance
10. These Knees
11. The Waves of Kilkee
12. Finale

Customers Also Like