Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Delta Music
Additional Artists: Joan Baez
Format: 33RPM,


Bob Dylan Bob Dylan & The New Folk Movement 180g Import 2LP

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180 Gram Double Vinyl! Featuring Joan Baez, Judy Collins, Dave Van Ronk & Bob Gibson!

Bob Dylan's influence on popular music is incalculable. As a songwriter, he pioneered several different schools of pop songwriting, from confessional singer/songwriter to winding, hallucinatory, stream-of-consciousness narratives. As a vocalist, he broke down the notion that a singer must have a conventionally good voice in order to perform, thereby redefining the vocalist's role in popular music. As a musician, he sparked several genres of pop music, including electrified folk-rock and country-rock. And that just touches on the tip of his achievements. Dylan's force was evident during his height of popularity in the '60s — the Beatles' shift toward introspective songwriting in the mid-'60s never would have happened without him — but his influence echoed throughout several subsequent generations, as many of his songs became popular standards and his best albums became undisputed classics of the rock & roll canon. Dylan's influence throughout folk music was equally powerful, and he marks a pivotal turning point in its 20th century evolution, signifying when the genre moved away from traditional songs and toward personal songwriting.

Dylan made his way to New York City in January of 1961, immediately making a substantial impression on the folk community of Greenwich Village. He began visiting his idol Guthrie in the hospital, where he was slowly dying from Huntington's chorea. Dylan also began performing in coffeehouses, and his rough charisma won him a significant following. In April, he opened for John Lee Hooker at Gerde's Folk City. Five months later, Dylan performed another concert at the venue, which was reviewed positively by Robert Shelton in The New York Times. Columbia A&R man John Hammond sought out Dylan on the strength of the review, and signed the songwriter in the fall of 1961. Hammond produced Dylan's eponymous debut album (released in March 1962), a collection of folk and blues standards with two original songs.

His debut album is included here along with 12 additional bonus songs by fellow folk enthusiasts!

• 180 Gram Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket

Bob Dylan
Joan Baez
Judy Collins
Dave Van Ronk
Bob Gibson

LP - Side A:

1. You're No Good (Bob Dylan)
2. Talkin' New York (Bob Dylan)
3. In My Time Of Dyin' (Bob Dylan)
4. Man Of Constant Sorrow (Bob Dylan)
5. Fixin' To Die (Bob Dylan)
6. Pretty Peggy-O (Bob Dylan)
7. Highway 51 (Bob Dylan)
LP1 - Side B:
1. Gospel Plow (Bob Dylan)
2. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down (Bob Dylan)
3. House Of The Risin' Sun (Bob Dylan)
4. Frieght Train Blues (Bob Dylan)
5. Song To Woody (Bob Dylan)
6. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean (Bob Dylan)
LP2 - Side C:
1. Plaisir D'Amour (Joan Baez)
2. Golden Apples Of The Sun (Judy Collins)
3. Careless Love (Dave Van Ronk)
4. John Henry (Bob Gibson)
5. Engine 143 (Joan Baez)
6. Twelve Gates To The City (Judy Collins)
LP2 - Side D:
1. Willie The Weeper (Dave Van Ronk)
2. Yes I See (Bob Gibson)
3. John Riley (Joan Baez)
4. Sing Hallelujah (Judy Collins)
5. Come Back Baby (Dave Van Ronk)
6. Motherless Children (Bob Gibson)

Customers Also Like