Genre: Jazz
Label: Ravenswave


Bob Ravenscroft Trio Fire In The Soul CD

Bob Ravenscroft Trio

$9.99 $17.99
(You save $8.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Jazz keyboard innovator Bob Ravenscroft has captured his trio’s uncompromising approach to improvisational jazz on a great new CD offering, Fire in the Soul. The all-acoustic album is exactly that - a molten interplay between the leader’s impressionistic piano, the bass of Steve Millhouse, and the free-ranging percussive explorations of drummer Rob Schuh. Theirs is a special chemistry indeed.

Fire in the Soul (Ravenswave) was recorded and mixed live during “Jazz Vespers” programs Ravenscroft has pioneered at Ascension Lutheran Church in Paradise Valley, Arizona. The album’s 14 brilliant trio collaborations take the listener through an inspired kaleidoscope of moods. In addition to the spontaneously combusted title track, the disc contains another prized original by Bob Ravenscroft, “Blues for GR,” plus seven improvs by the group that really “take it out” and “bring it back.” The threesome also paints its unique, brushstrokes of sound across Bill Evans’ “Re: Person I Knew,” Herbie Hancock’s “Speak Like a Child,” Miles Davis’ “Blue in Green” and other legendary jazz cuts.

The group’s other recent album Three Alone, an “audiophile” quality double album, was crafted with hybrid SACD technology. In one review, Kalman Rubinson of Stereophile Magazine said of Three Alone: “It may be easy listening, but it's not superficial. Of special note for audiophiles is the outstandingly lucid and immediate sound…” Three Alone has been garnering airplay on jazz stations across the U.S., and Fire in the Soul is expected to do the same.

Bob Ravenscroft is on a veritable mission to imbue jazz with spirituality, and likewise seeks to bring high art into church settings. He’s the driving force behind an innovative new nonprofit organization called Music Serving the Word Ministries, which is developing several striking new concepts in live performance.

Bob Ravenscroft, piano
Steve Millhouse, bass
Rob Schuh, drums

1. The Opener (Bill Evans)
2. Improv 1
3. Fire In The Soul
4. Blue In Green (Miles Davis)
5. Improv 2
6. Improv 3
7. Speak Like A Child (Herbie Hancock)
8. Improv 4
9. Re: Person I Knew (Bill Evans)
10. Improv 5
11. Improv 6
12. Improv 7
13. Some Other Time (Betty Condon, Adolph Green & Leonard Bernstein)
14. Blues For GR (Bob Ravenscroft)

Customers Also Like