Bob Weir Ace (50th Anniversary Remaster) 180g LP

Bob Weir

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary 180g Vinyl LP!
Remixed by Derek Featherstone & Remastered by GRAMMY® Award-Winning Engineer David Glasser!
Featuring Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh & Jerry Garcia!

When Bobby started working on Ace at Wally Heider's Studio in San Francisco in early 1972, he wasn't planning for the Grateful Dead to be his backing band. It just happened. "I pretty much knew in the back of my mind what would happen," Weir told Crawdaddy a few months after the sessions. "I go and get the time booked and start putting the material together. Everybody gets wind of the fact I got the time booked and I may be going into the studio. So, one by one, they start coming around..."

It made sense, the band was already familiar with most of the music, having road-tested six of the album's eight songs, including "Greatest Story Ever Told," "Mexicali Blues," and "Playing in the Band," destined to become one of Weir's signature tunes. Ace also marked the beginning of Weir's long-running collaboration with lyricist John Perry Barlow and includes early standouts "Cassidy" and "Looks Like Rain."


  • 50th Anniversary
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remixed by Derek Featherstone
  • Remastered by David Glasser
  • Produced for Release by Bobby Weir & Derek Featherstone
  • Printed in Czech Republic
  • Made in USA


Robert "Ace" Weir acoustic & electric guitar
William "Fairplay" Kreutzmann drums
Phil Lesh bass, harmony vocal on "Mexicali Blues"
Jerry Garcia electric guitar, pedal steel guitar on "Looks Like Rain"
Keith Godchaux piano
Donna Godchaux harmony, the-chick vocals
Dave Torbert bass on "Greatest Story Ever Told"


Side One:

  1. Greatest Story Ever Told
  2. Black-Throated Wind
  3. Walk in the Sunshine
  4. Playing in the Band

Side Two:

  1. Looks Like Rain
  2. Mexicali Blues
  3. One More Saturday Night
  4. Cassidy

Customers Also Like