Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Brad Mehldau Live In Tokyo Numbered Limited Edition 180g 3LP

Brad Mehldau

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Numbered, Limited 15th Anniversary Edition On 180g Triple LP!
First Time On Vinyl! Pressed at Record Industry!
Limited To 3000 Copies Worldwide!

Brad Mehldau's Nonesuch Records debut album, Live in Tokyo, first released on September 14, 2004, makes its vinyl debut almost exactly fifteen years later, on September 13, 2019. The vinyl edition, made in partnership with Run Out Groove, comprises the original album's eight tracks plus an additional seven tracks previously available only on the Japanese edition and sequenced in the order of that release. This triple-LP set was mastered by Alex DeTurk and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Record Industry in the Netherlands. Limited to 3,000 copies worldwide.

On Live in Tokyo, Mehldau, hailed by the Washington Post as "one of his generation's most gifted and thoughtful pianists," performs his own tunes and interprets material from artists as varied as George Gershwin, Thelonius Monk, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon, Nick Drake, Richard Rodgers, Cole Porter, Burt Bacharach, and Radiohead on an album recorded live in concert at Sumida Triphony Hall in Tokyo in February of 2003.

Few pianists can match Brad Mehldau when it comes to cross-fertilizing jazz, classical, and rock. The same applies for technique, taste and intellectual curiosity. All of those qualities are on display [on Live in Tokyo].
Mehldau plays beautifully on his own, his work is florid with detail, yet never just flowery. There is a deeply felt passion in all he plays, and that's exactly why he is so engrossing to hear: in a solo setting Mehldau demonstrates how he selects his ideas altogether discriminatingly from what must be a veritable flood of variations that occur to him as he plays. It's not long into listening to Live in Tokyo that you are reminded how skillfully he runs the gamut of emotion in his playing.
-All About Jazz


  • Numbered, Limited To 3000 Copies Worldwide
  • 15th Anniversary Edition
  • 3LP
  • 180g Vinyl
  • First time on vinyl
  • Includes complete set recorded in 2003 at Sumida Triphony Hall in Tokyo
  • Includes tracks previously only released in the Japanese market
  • Mastered by Alex DeTurk
  • Pressed at Record Industry in the Netherlands
  • Deluxe tri-fold jacket


Brad Mehldau piano


LP 1

Side A:
  1. Intro
  2. 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover
  3. My Heart Stood Still
Side B:
  1. Roses Blue
  2. Intro II
  3. Someone To Watch Over Me

LP 2

Side C:
  1. Things Behind The Sun
  2. C Tune
  3. Waltz Tune
  4. From This Moment On
Side D:
  1. Alfie
  2. Monk's Dream

LP 3

Side E:
  1. Paranoid Android
Side F:
  1. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  2. River Man

Customers Also Like