Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine Vol. 2 LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Star-Studded Tribute to "The Singing Mailman" on Vinyl LP!
Featuring Brandi Carlile, Sturgill Simpson, Emmylou Harris, Jason Isbell & More!

Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine Vol. 2 is the follow-up to the original 2010 tribute record. This edition features John's friends and peers Brandi Carlile ("I Remember Everything"), Tyler Childers ("Yes I Guess They Oughta Name a Drink After You"), Iris DeMent ("One Red Rose"), Emmylou Harris ("Hello in There"), Jason Isbell ("Souvenirs"), Valerie June ("Summer's End"), Margo Price ("Sweet Revenge"), Bonnie Raitt ("Angel from Montgomery"), Nathaniel Rateliff ("Pretty Good"), Amanda Shires ("Saddle in the Rain"), Sturgill Simpson ("Paradise") and John Paul White ("Sam Stone").

Proceeds from each track will go to a charity of the respective artist's choosing.

John's last recorded song, "I Remember Everything", won Grammy awards for Best American Roots Song and Best American Roots performance. Brandi Carlile recorded the song for this compilation, and performed it in John's honor at the awards show.

"John Prine is a hero and one of the most important and significant songwriters of our time. I feel so lucky to have called him a friend. It was an absolute honor of my life to pay tribute to him on the Grammy stage. His songs will live forever." - Brandi Carlile

Amanda Shires delivers the highlight of the album by breathing new life into 'Saddle in the Rain' and does so without changing all that much. Shires' take remains rooted in the late '70s aesthetic of the original but has a slight disco sheen that, combined with her vocal delivery, gives it more of a Fleetwood Mac vibe. It pairs nicely with Margo Price's spin on 'Sweet Revenge,' a version that would feel right at home on her That's How Rumors Get Started LP. Ascendant talent Tyler Childers plays to his strengths and slows down the tempo slightly on 'Yes I Guess they Oughta Name a Drink After You,' bringing its honky-tonk undertones to the forefront in the process. Bonnie Raitt similarly tweaks her track, 'Angel from Montgomery,' adjusting its arrangement to cater to her bluesy vocals. But on an album full of sterling vocal performances, John Paul White offers up the finest with his powerhouse version of 'Sam Stone.' His voice is anguished, underscoring the pain and sadness in the lyrics to create an emotionally visceral experience. It's moments like these, electrifying performances like White's or Shires', that really bring into focus the depth of Prine's gifts as a composer to tap into the essence of the human condition, the reverence in which he's held by his peers, and the range of the talent he's inspired. At its best, Broken Hearts and Dirty Windows, Vol. 2 ensures that that remarkable gift and his influence continue to live on.
-Jim Shahen, No Depression


  • Vinyl LP
  • Proceeds from Each Track Will Go to a Charity of the Respective Artist's Choosing


Side A:

  1. Brandi Carlile - I Remember Everything
  2. Amanda Shires - Saddle in the Rain
  3. Margo Price - Sweet Revenge
  4. Valerie June - Summer's End
  5. Jason Isbell - Souvenirs
  6. One Red Rose - Iris DeMent

Side B:

  1. Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats - Pretty Good
  2. Tyler Childers - Yes I Guess They Oughta Name a Drink After You
  3. Bonnie Raitt - Angel from Montgomery
  4. John Paul White - Sam Stone
  5. Emmylou Harris - Hello in There
  6. Sturgill Simpson - Paradise

Customers Also Like