Genre: Latin
Label: World Circuit
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Buena Vista Social Club Buena Vista Social Club (25th Anniversary Edition) [Deluxe Bookpack] 180g 2LP/2CD/Book Box Set

Buena Vista Social Club

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

25th Anniversary Limited Edition 2LP & 2CD Deluxe Bookpack!
Original Album Remastered by Bernie Grundman On CD & 180g Vinyl 2LP!
CD Of Previously Unheard Bonus Tracks From Original Session Tapes!

'Buena Vista Social Club' is both the name given to this extraordinary group of musicians and the album, recorded in just seven days in 1996 in Havana's 1950s vintage EGREM studios. It was clear from the atmosphere of the recording sessions that something very special was taking place. However, no one could have predicted that Buena Vista Social Club would become a worldwide phenomenon - awarded a Grammy in 1997 and, at 8 million copies, outselling any other record in the same genre.

The acclaim of the original album has elevated the artists (including Ibrahim Ferrer, Rubén González & Omara Portuondo) to superstar status, inspired an award-winning film by Wim Wenders, and has contributed to popularizing Cuba's rich musical heritage. Produced by Ry Cooder for World Circuit, the timeless quality of the music and the sheer verve of the veteran performers have ensured that this will go down as one of the landmark recordings of the 20th century.

To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the album's recording, producer Ry Cooder and World Circuit's Nick Gold have gone back to the original tapes and into the archive to produce this Deluxe Remaster package, featuring previously unheard tracks from the original 1996 recording sessions, previously unseen photos, and new liner notes.

It's hard to overstate the impact of Buena Vista Social Club, the ensemble whose self-titled 1997 album revived the careers of a number of Cuban artists (Compay Segundo, Omara Portuondo, Ibrahim Ferrer) and sparked a welcome craze for music from this island nation. With the 25th anniversary of that momentous release, originally issued by Nonesuch, BMG has unveiled this deluxe edition. Packaged like a great coffee table book, the reissue includes a remastered version of the original LP on both vinyl and CD with the latter containing a wealth of unheard material from the album sessions. As well, there's a lovely booklet featuring extensive notes on each song and some fantastic behind the scenes photos of the recording process. It's a majestic collection worthy of the enlivening, stirring music found within. Producers Ry Cooder and Nick Gold allowed the personalities of these various musicians to come blazing out and captured the ardent breadth of these tunes.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • 25th Anniversary Edition
  • Deluxe 2CD + 2LP Bookpack
  • 180g Vinyl
  • 2LP: Original album remastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Tapes + 5 Bonus Tracks
  • CD 1: Original album remastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Tapes
  • CD 2: 19 previously unheard bonus tracks from original 1996 studio sessions
  • 40-page book: new liner notes, photos, song notes, lyrics & history of original club
  • 2 12"x12" Art Prints
  • Made in Czech Republic


LP 1

Side A (2021 Remaster):
  1. Chan Chan
  2. De Camino a la Vereda
  3. El Cuarto de Tula
  4. Pueblo Nuevo
Side B (2021 Remaster):
  1. Dos Gardenias
  2. Y Tú Qué Has Hecho?
  3. Veinte Años
  4. El Carretero
  5. Candela

LP 2

Side C (2021 Remaster):
  1. Amor de Loca Juventud
  2. Orgullecida
  3. Murmullo
  4. Buena Vista Social Club
  5. La Bayamesa
Side D (Bonus Tracks):
  1. Vicenta
  2. La Pluma
  3. A Tus Pies
  4. La Cleptómana
  5. Orgullecida (Alternate Trio Take)

CD1 (2021 Remaster)

  1. Chan Chan
  2. De Camino a La Vereda
  3. El Cuarto de Tula
  4. Pueblo Nuevo
  5. Dos Gardenias
  6. ¿ Y Tú Qué Has Hecho?
  7. Veinte Años
  8. El Carretero
  9. Candela
  10. Amor de Loca Juventud
  11. Orgullecida
  12. Murmullo
  13. Buena Vista Social Club
  14. La Bayamesa

CD2 (Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks)

  1. Chan Chan (Monitor Mix)
  2. Vicenta
  3. La Pluma
  4. Dos Gardenias (Alternate Take)
  5. Mandinga
  6. Siboney
  7. A Tus Pies
  8. El Carretero (Alternate Take)
  9. Ensayo
  10. El Diablo Suelto
  11. Saludo Compay
  12. Descripción De Un Sueño
  13. Pueblo Nuevo (Alternate Take)
  14. La Cleptómana
  15. ¿ Y Tú Qué Has Hecho? (Alternate Take)
  16. Orgullecida (Alternate Take)
  17. Descarga Rubén (Previously Unreleased)
  18. Candela (Alternate Take)
  19. Orgullecida (Alternate Trio Take)

Customers Also Like