Genre: Pop Rock
Label: ADA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Calexico Garden Ruin LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
"A band has got to keep changing and moving or it will get boring and break up," says Calexico's John Convertino. Fortunately Calexico have barely stopped moving for ten years. The distances they have traveled over the years are apparent on Garden Ruin. For this new recording, the band brought in producer JD Foster and relocated from Tucson to Bisbee, AZ.

Inspired by their surroundings, the band explored musical avenues that they had previously left untouched. "This album was a conscious decision to try something new and tap into strains in our musical fabric that haven't been highlighted in the past," comments Joey Burns. The fabric he refers to is still inherent in their music, of course, the band has always admitted influences as diverse as Portuguese fado, 50's jazz, gypsy or romani music, 60's surf and twang, the spaghetti western epics of Ennio Morricone and dark indie rock singer songwriters like Smog, Richard Buckner, Will Oldham and Vic Chestnutt. But this album, he states, "turned out to be more about songs, songs that didn't necessarily go back to the same pool of influences as before."

This is no doubt one reason why Garden Ruin seems a more accessible album. Where the open blue skies of the landscapes they chronicled before were normally tempered by the smoky dark blues of their jazz influences, Garden Ruin is musically brighter, though this time the skies are tempered by a darker lyrical content in which "Birds refuse to fly / No longer trust the sky". Opener "Cruel" is a case in point, it's potent melody and almost uplifting arrangement masking stories "that break like branches in the cold". Closing track "All Systems Red" is massive, guitars surging around Burns as he howls in a way that will be as surprising to those who followed the band throughout their career as to the late converts brought in by their cover of Love's "Alone Again Or".

Lyrically, too, the album sees Burns taking a left turn, addressing contemporary America rather than the mythical America that always previously inspired him. Stories of the little man are now set alongside far more personal insights into Burns' world view. "There is much more of an influence of the current state of affairs in the lyrics on this album than before," Burns believes.

Put succinctly, Garden Ruin is where Calexico fill those dusty, empty landscapes they documented with a big, big sound...

• Limited Edition
• Includes a coupon for free download of entire album in MP3 format, plus bonus MP3's of tracks not included on the album

1. Cruel
2. Yours and Mine
3. Bisbee Blue
4. Panic Open String
5. Letter to Bowie Knife
6. Roka
7. Lucky Dime
8. Smash
9. Deep Down
10. Nom De Plume
11. All Systems Red

Customers Also Like