Genre: Soul
Label: Daptone
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Charles Bradley Black Velvet LP

Charles Bradley

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Video Sample!

Powerful Soul Singer's Final Album On Vinyl LP!

November 5th, 2018 would have been Charles Bradley's 70th birthday. In celebration of his extraordinary life, Daptone imprint Dunham Records is proud to announce the release of his fourth and final album, Black Velvet.

Black Velvet is a celebration of Charles Bradley, lovingly assembled by his friends and family at Dunham/Daptone Records. Though chronologically the material spans Charles' entire career, this is no anthology, greatest hits or other shallow rehashing of the songs that already made him famous. Rather, this album is a profound exploration through the less-travelled corners of the soulful universe that Charles and his longtime producer, co-writer and friend Tommy "TNT" Brenneck created in the studio together over their decade-long partnership. It features new songs recorded during the sessions from each of his three albums, heard here for the very first time in all their scorching glory: "Can't Fight the Feeling", "Fly Little Girl" and the heart-wrenching single "I Feel a Change"; hard core rarities like his funk-bomb duet with LaRose Jackson, "Luv Jones", the psychedelic groover, "(I Hope You Find) The Good Life" and the ever-elusive alternate full band electric version of "Victim of Love"; sought-after covers of Nirvana's "Stay Away", Neil Young's "Heart of Gold" and Rodriguez's "Slip Away"; and the title track "Black Velvet", a stirring Menahan Street Band instrumental to which Charles was never able to cut a vocal.

Charles was truly a transcendent singer who led a remarkable life, overcoming unimaginable adversity to achieve great success and international acclaim very late in his life. What was really special about him and made him different from everybody else in the world was how he understood his pain as a cry for universal love and humanity. He felt that if he loved enough—if we all loved each other enough—we could take away the world's pain and sadness. That is why he jumped off the stage and literally tried to hug everybody he could. It's why he took such great care of a mother that had abandoned him. It's why he sang and danced like a lunatic. It's why he screamed like an eagle. And that's why we love him.

Black Velvet is a celebration of his life, and is destined to join Charles' first three albums alongside the cannon of essential soul records for the ages.

"There were few music stories in 2017 more devastating than the passing of soul icon Charles Bradley. A juggernaut of a live performer, whose passion for entertaining and joyously living every moment of his life were clear to anyone who ever watched him set foot on stage, Bradley was an infectious presence. It was impossible to wear a frown while watching him pour out his heart and soul to anyone who would listen—there have been few artists in the history of soul music, or popular music in general, who were so uniquely earnest." - Paste Magazine

• Vinyl LP
• Final album
• Featuring Menahan Street Band
• Limited time MP3 download card

Side One:

1. Can't Fight The Feeling - Unreleased track from the No Time For Dreaming sessions
2. Luv Jones (Featuring LaRose Jackson) - Originally released as a 45rpm single
3. I Feel A Change - Unreleased track from the Victim Of Love sessions
4. Slip Away - Originally released as Rodriguez tribute 45" by Light In The Attic
5. Black Velvet - Unreleased instrumental by Menahan Street Band
Side Two:
1. Stay Away - Originally released as a 45rpm single
2. Heart Of Gold - Originally released as a 45rpm single
3. (I Hope You Find) The Good Life - Originally released on a limited edition EP
4. Fly Little Girl - Unreleased track from the Changes sessions
5. Victim Of Love (Electric Version) (Featuring The Sha La Das) - Originally released on a limited edition EP

Customers Also Like