Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Polydor
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Velvet Underground The Velvet Underground 180g LP

The Velvet Underground

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
45th Anniversary 180g Vinyl Reissue! Remastered from Original Master Tapes!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 143/500!

The Velvet Underground is the third album by American rock group The Velvet Underground. The album was recorded in 1968 at TTG Studios in Hollywood, California. It was their first record to feature Doug Yule, John Cale's replacement. The album's sound – consisting largely of ballads and straightforward rock songs – marked a notable shift in style from the group's previous recordings.

Apart from the forceful rockers "What Goes On" and "Beginning to See the Light," it largely features more subtle and restrained sounds with reflective, melodic songs that are about various forms of love, including "Pale Blue Eyes," "Some Kinda Love," "Jesus," "I'm Set Free," and "That's the Story of My Life." Without Cale's penchant for experimenting, Reed and Morrison's twin-guitar playing became the band's most prominent sound, and the album had spare arrangements that lacked distortion. The only song that exhibited the band's avant-garde roots is "The Murder Mystery," which incorporated a raga rhythm, murmuring organ, overlapping spoken-word passages, and lilting counterpoint vocals.

"... as personal, honest, and moving as anything Lou Reed ever committed to tape." -Mark Deming,

"The album that turned folk music inside out. VU began as a black-booted antidote to flower power, so the quiet disillusion, exhaustion and ache here is as explosive as their first album's forbidding howl." -Rolling Stone

• 45th Anniversary Edition
• 180g Vinyl

Side One:

1. Candy Says
2. What Goes On
3. Some Kinda Love
4. Pale Blue Eyes
5. Jesus
Side Two:
1. Beginning To See The Light
2. I’m Set Free
3. That’s The Story of My Life
4. The Murder Mystery
5. After Hours

Customers Also Like