Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um Redux 2LP

Charles Mingus

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Double LP Featuring Alternate Takes Previously Unreleased On Vinyl!

Mingus Ah Um, the artist's 1959 debut for Columbia, is one of the most consequential albums in jazz or any other genre. The release is part of the Library of Congress National Recording Registry and has been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat", "Boogie Stomp Shuffle", "Open Letter To The Duke"... the release is packed with classics and is a best-selling release to this day.

Get On Down presents Ah Um Redux, the full Ah Um record as you know and love it with a second LP featuring alternate takes from the session previously unreleased on vinyl.


  • Double LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • 2nd LP contains 6 tracks never before released on vinyl


Charles Mingus bass, piano
Horace Parlan piano
John Handy alto saxophone, clarinet, tenor sax
Booker Ervin tenor saxophone
Shafi Hadi tenor sax, alto sax
Jimmy Knepper trombone
Willie Dennis trombone
Dannie Richmond drums


Side A:

  1. Better Git It In Your Soul
  2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
  3. Boogie Stop Shuffle
  4. Self-Portrait In Three Colors
  5. Open Letter To Duke

Side B:

  1. Bird Calls
  2. Fables Of Faubus
  3. Pussy Cat Dues
  4. Jelly Roll

Side C:

  1. Pedal Point Blues
  2. GG Train
  3. Girl Of My Dreams

Side D:

  1. Bird Calls (Alternate Take)
  2. Better Git It In Your Soul (Alternate Take)
  3. Jelly Roll (Alternate Take)

Customers Also Like