Genre: Classical
Label: Testament
Composer: Chopin
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"



Maurizio Pollini

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Recorded September 1960 by EMI at Abbey Road Studios.

This outstanding recording featuring Maurizio Pollini performing the complete Chopin Études is being offered for the first time by Testament. It was made by EMI at Abbey Road a few months after Pollini had won the Chopin Competition in Warsaw. Peter Andry, who produced the recording, later recalled Pollini's play-through of the first set as a spine-tingling experience. This was pianism of the very finest kind, he said. Rarely had I heard such perfection. He seemed to play these demanding works effortlessly. I remember the occasion even now as one of my greatest musical experiences. The recording reproduces with striking immediacy and clarity a performance that captures the 18-year-old pianist s sensitive and sympathetic emotional response to these works. This is a superb addition to Pollini s extensive recorded catalogue and shows this great artist at the very beginning of his professional career as a musician of the highest caliber.

"His playing is powerful and precise, driven by a probing intellect and executed with steely, virtually infallible fingers..." - The New York Times

• 180g Vinyl

Maurizio Pollini, piano

Side 1:

1. No.1 in C
2. No.2 in A minor
3. No.3 in E
4. No.4 in C sharp minor
5. No.5 in G flat
6. No.6 in E flat minor
7. No.7 in C
8. No.8 in F
9. No.9 in F minor
10. No.10 in A flat
11. No.11 in E flat
12. No.12 in C minor

Side 2
1. No.1 in A flat
2. No.2 in F minor
3. No.3 in F
4. No.4 in A minor
5. No.5 in E minor
6. No.6 in G sharp minor
7. No.7 in C sharp minor
8. No.8 in D flat
9. No.9 in G flat
10. No.10 in B minor
11. No.11 in A minor
12. No.12 in C minor

Customers Also Like