Cleveland International Records: Cleveland Rocks LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Compilation Reissued On Vinyl LP To Celebrate The Re-Opening Of The Cleveland International Records Label!
Features Meat Loaf, Ronnie Spector & The E Street Band, Iron City Houserockers, Ian Hunter & More!

Forty two years after Meat Loaf's epic, multi-platinum global smash Bat Out of Hell put Cleveland International Records in our collective musical consciousness, the legendary indie label is back in business, re-launching with a LP re-release of its mid-90s all-star compilation on April 5th called, Cleveland Rocks which is available for pre-order.

The third incarnation of the label that gave us everyone from Ronnie Spector & The E Street Band to Meat Loaf to America's polka king Frank Yankovic is being guided by Steve Popovich, Jr. a veteran satellite radio and industry executive whose father, the late famed record industry exec Steve Popovich, founded the label in the mid-70s. Prior to launching Cleveland International, the elder Popovich rose through the ranks at CBS Records, becoming their youngest ever VP of Promotion for Columbia Records.

Steve Popovich, Sr. was twice named Billboard magazine's National Promotion Man of the Year and won the Clive Davis Award for Promotion Excellence. His successes included Simon & Garfunkel, Boz Scaggs, Loggins & Messina, Bob Dylan, The Byrds, Santana, Janis Joplin, Dave Mason, Mahavishnu Orchestra, New Riders of the Purple Sage, Johnny Mathis, Chicago, Tony Bennett, Earth Wind & Fire, Taj Mahal, Miles Davis, Mott the Hoople, Johnny Winter and The Chambers Brothers.

After his history making run as head of promotion, Popovich Sr. became VP of A&R at Epic Records and built a team that launched the careers of Boston, Ted Nugent, Cheap Trick, Jaco Pastorius, Wild Cherry, Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes, The Hollies, Tom Jones and Engelbert Humperdinck. He was also a key member of the A&R team that signed and brought the Jacksons, including Michael and Janet, to Epic.

"My dad's story is pretty fascinating, here's this guy who grew up in a small coal mining town in Pennsylvania to becoming one of the most beloved and respected people in the history of the record business," says Popovich, Jr., who began working at the label out of high school during its second incarnation (1995-2003). Over the years, his roles included everything from handling inventory control to overseeing the catalog including production, artwork, manufacturing, distribution, promotion and marketing of the Cleveland Int'l catalog and its subsidiaries. "We were a two man company for the better part of those last few years so working that closely with him on a daily basis with that down in it tenacity was like getting a masters degree in this business." Says Popovich Jr. He will run Cleveland International out of his home base of Nashville.

"The idea to relaunch had been simmering for a while," he adds, "when my father's estate was finally settled after seven in a half years after his passing, it seemed like the perfect segue to me transitioning away from my company, Wrecking Ball Entertainment to relaunching Cleveland International. Home is where the heart is and it was time for me to pick up where he left off. This means everything to me. I knew how much this label meant to him so to now be in this position is quite an honor. This isn't about me, it's about him, an opportunity to pick up that torch and carry on his legacy."

On April 5, Cleveland International is set to re-release their Cleveland Rocks compilation on both LP. In addition to Meat Loaf's "Paradise By The Dashboard Light," the 13 track collection includes classics by Ian Hunter of Mott The Hoople (the anthem "Cleveland Rocks"), Ronnie Spector & the E Street Band ("Say Goodbye to Hollywood"), Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes ("I Don't Wanna Go Home"), Iron City Houserockers ("Have a Good Time But Get Out Alive"), Euclid Beach Band ("There's No Surf in Cleveland"), The Boyzz ("Too Wild To Tame"), Essence ("Sweet Fools"), The Rovers ("Wasn't That A Party") and Bat Out of Hell collaborator Ellen Foley ("We Belong To the Night").


  • Vinyl LP
  • Limited time free download code


Side A:

  1. Say Goodbye To Hollywood (Ronnie Spector & The E Street Band)
  2. I Don't Wanna Go Home (Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes)
  3. Have A Good Time But Get Out Alive (Iron City Houserockers)
  4. Sweet Fools (Essence)
  5. Wasn't That A Party (The Rovers)
  6. There's No Surf In Cleveland (Euclid Beach Band)

Side B:

  1. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Meat Loaf)
  2. We Belong To The Night (Ellen Foley)
  3. Too Wild To Tame (The Boyzz)
  4. Cleveland Rocks (Ian Hunter)

Customers Also Like