Genre: Jazz
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,


Coleman Hawkins & His Orchestra 180g LP (Mono)

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Mono LP! Re-mastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Jazz saxophonist Coleman Hawkins is joined by George Duvivier, Osie Johnson, Eddie Costa and Thad Jones for these five selections featuring After Midnight and Moodsville. The ideas, the technique, the style, leave no doubt that Hawkins is still the titan of the tenor. "The Hawk" cuts loose, with virility and inventiveness, on a group of his own original tunes. His work is fiery on the upthings; lush and spellbinding on the ballads. At all times, he is very much the inspired "Hawk." Listen to the heart and soul of "the most influential reed man in the world."

"Actual playing experience on the job is the best way to learn to think. Improvising is playing with a lot of thought behind it; but none of the hard work that goes into thinking should show up in your playing. Too often improvising is really copying. To really improvise, a musician needs to know everything - not only his instrument, but harnony, composition, theory, the whole works. It's more important than ever today. When you don't have the control (of your instrument), you can't incorporate the ideas that you hear and feel into your style. That's what's wrong with so many of the players coming up today. Sure... I was advanced for my time in those early days, for just that reason - I had studied hard since I was five, and studied classics all my life, and it gives me an advantage over the other fellows I was playing with." - Coleman Hawkins

• Mono
• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Limited Edition
• Re-mastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

Coleman Hawkins, Tenor Saxophone
George Duvivier, Bass
Osie Johnson, Drums
Eddie Costa, Piano, Vibraphone
Thad Jones, Trumpet

Side 1:

1. Bean In Orbit
2. After Midnight
3. Hassle
Side 2:
1. Moodsville
2. Stalking

Customers Also Like