Concertos For Double Bass And Orchestra Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
In this highly unusual recording, featuring the double bass as solo instrument, we hear music by the Italian composer Giovanni Bottesini and two Swedish composers - Erland von Koch and Lars-Erik Larsson.

Soloist: Thorvald Fredin, is Professor of Double Bass at the Stockholm College of Music.

A breezy presentation of double bass virtuoso Bottesini's second concerto for the instrument, originally written for performance by the composer himself coupled with his Elegia, testifies the present performers' technical mastery and musical understanding of this typically 19th century composition in which no opportunity is lost, in cantelinaor runs, demonstrating the soloist's proficiency. (Musikrevy)

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Thorbard Fredin, double bass
The Oskarshamn Ensemble
Jan-Olav Wedin, conductor

Lars Erik Larsson (1908-1986)
Concertino for double bass and string orchestra, op. 45 No. 11

1. Ballad: Moderato
2. Arioso: Lento
3. Finale: Allegro vivace

Erland von Koch (1910-2009)
Serenade for double bass and string orchestra

4. Allegro Moderato
5. Andante sostenuto
6. Tempo di Valse
7. Molto vivace

Giovanni Bottesini (1821-1889)
Concertino for double bass and orchestra, No. 2 in B minor

8. Allegro Moderato
9. Andante
10. Allegro
11. Elegia in Re Maggiore for double bass and string orchestra