Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Capitol
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Concrete Blonde Mexican Moon 2LP

Concrete Blonde

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Double LP! First Time On Vinyl!

Mexican Moon is the fifth studio album from US rock band Concrete Blonde. The music on Mexican Moon takes the gothic rock of their previous albums and adds more of a hard rock edge to it. Johnette Napolitano provided the vocals, bass guitar, samples, and the album artwork, and she was accompanied by drummer Paul Thompson and guitarist James Mankey. "End of the Line" is a Roxy Music song, written by Bryan Ferry and originally released on the Siren album.

"The album is a striking marriage of Johnette Napolitano's dark, lyrical imagery and the band's alternative-tinged pop sensibilities making it, perhaps, their most fully realized effort. 'Jenny I Read' kicks things off with the tale of a chance encounter of a fallen, reclusive starlet. Guitarist James Mankey shows versatility playing acoustic and Spanish guitar on the dreamy title track and the wah-wah effects of the brooding 'Jesus Forgive Me (For the Things I'm About to Say).' 'Heal It Up' was the unsuccessful single but is a bracing number with a ferocious vocal performance by Napolitano." - Tom Demalon,

"There can be no denying the power and the glory of a full-throttled voice let loose, and Johnette Napolitano knows it. Over the course of four albums (this is the fifth), her band, Concrete Blonde, has made forceful, adult rock and roll that demands attention. Napalitano has a voice that pulls no punches; it is alternately passionate, tough, playful and aggressive, but always womanly. For close to a decade now, Concrete Blonde has languished around the cult-band hinterlands. In a perfect cosmos their dramatic, gothic, guitar-laden, guts-and-soul music would dominate the music charts. Perhaps Concrete Blonde's intensity is just a little bit too real for a generation that was weaned on facade, for there is nothing phony or cute on this disc. The proof of that can be heard in songs like the cascading 'Heal It Up' and a faithful cover of Roxy Music's 'End of the Line.' Even in its quieter moments, Mexican Moon seethes with emotion." - People Magazine, 1993

• Vinyl LP
• Double LP

Side One:

1. Jenny I Read
2. Mexican Moon
3. Heal It Up
4. Jonestown
Side Two:
1. Rain
2. I Call It Love
3. Jesus Forgive Me (For The Things I'm About To Say)
4. When You Smile
Side Three:
1. Close To Home
2. One Of My Kind
3. End Of The Line
Side Four:
1. (Love Is A) Blind Ambition
2. Bajo La Lune Mexicana

Customers Also Like