Genre: Jazz
Label: Jazzline/PO
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Count Basie Big Band Live in Berlin 1963 180g 2LP

The Count Basie Big Band

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Double LP!
Remastered Original Master Concert Recording!

Count Basie Big Band's Live In Berlin 1963 is an original master concert recording from Sportpalast Berlin. Live In Berlin 1963 is a release in the WDR The Cologne Broadcasts series produced by jazz historian Dr. Bernd Hoffmann. William James "Count" Basie (August 21, 1904-April 26, 1984) is an American jazz pianist, organist, bandleader, and composer. In 1935, Basie formed his own jazz orchestra, the Count Basie Orchestra, and in 1936 took them to Chicago for a long engagement and their first recording. He led the group for almost 50 years, creating innovations like the use of two "split" tenor saxophones, emphasizing the rhythm section, riffing with a big band, using arrangers to broaden their sound, and others. WDR (West German Broadcasting Cologne) is the German public broadcasting institution based in the Federal State of North Rhine- Westphalia with its main office in Cologne. Engineered by Franz-Josef Schwarz and re-mastered by Dirk Franken, both formats include musician credits and liner notes by journalist and radio host Karsten Mützelfeldt in English and German.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold jacket
• Unreleased Original Master Concert Recording
• Remastered
• Made in Germany

Side A:

1. In A Mellow Tone
2. Moon River
3. Misty
Side B:
4. Corner Pocket
5. Count 'Em
6. Announcement Count Basie
7. Mr. Five By Five
Side C:
8. I Want A Little Girl
9. I'm Coming Virginia
10. The Swinging Shepherd Blues
11. The Midnight Sun Never Sets
Side D:
12. It Needs To Be Bee'd With
13. Lil' Darlin'
14. One O'Clock Jump
15. Jumpin' At The Woodside

Recorded September 9, 1963 at Sportpalast, Berlin, Germany

Customers Also Like