Genre: R&B
Label: Rhino
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Curtis Mayfield Keep On Keeping On: Curtis Mayfield Studio Albums 1970-74 180g 4LP Box Set

Curtis Mayfield

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl 4LP Box Set!
Newly Remastered!

Curtis Mayfield was an American soul, rhythm and blues and funk singer, songwriter, and record producer. He is highly regarded as a pioneer of funk and of politically conscious African-American Music. He was also a multi-instrumentalist who played the guitar, bass, piano, saxophone, and drums.

2019 marks the 50th anniversary of Mayfield's prolific solo career start. Keep On Keeping On features newly remastered versions of the first four studio albums the legendary artist recorded between 1970 And 1974: Curtis (1970), Roots (1971), Back To The World (1973) and Sweet Exorcist (1974).

"If Curtis Mayfield never released a solo album in his lifetime, he would have already cemented his legendary status through his work with The Impressions and the many hit R&B and pop tunes he wrote and produced for other artists. But he truly achieved God Mode in 1970 with the release of his album Curtis, an insta-classic featuring the irresistible epic 'Move On Up' and seven other marbled slabs of psych-soul. From there, Mayfield connected with another gear for the rest of the decade: the soundtracks for Super Fly and Claudine, albums with Mavis Staples and Aretha Franklin and some killer live albums. This newly-released set only collects a fraction of the material from the '70s, but they are still essentials for any self-respecting vinyl collector. Curtis and Roots (the latter from 1971) set the tone of poignant yet groovy expressions of self-preservation and Afrocentrism that he slowly pulls apart on the other two studio efforts included in this set, 1973's Back To The World and 1974's Sweet Exorcist. Mayfield's hopes for the future of Black Americans and the country as a whole aren't terribly positive, which may account for his desire to get as much of his music out into the world as he could before things fell apart. But as with all of his best work, Mayfield renders his bleak outlook with bright shades and some of the funkiest, trippiest music of that time. The psychedelic era did a number on his mind, body and soul and the world was all the better for it." - Paste Magazine

• 180g Vinyl
• 4LP Box Set
• Remastered
• Slipcase

LP1 - Curtis
Side One:

1. (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go
2. The Other Side Of Town
3. The Makings Of You
4. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
Side Two:
1. Move On Up
2. Miss Black America
3. Wild And Free
4. Give It Up

LP2 - Roots
Side One:

1. Get Down
2. Keep On Keeping On
3. Underground
4. We Got To Have Peace
Side Two:
1. Beautiful Brother Of Mine
2. Now Your'e Gone
3. Love To Keep You In My Mind

LP3 - Back To The World
Side One:

1. Back To The World
2. Future Shock
3. Right On For The Darkness
Side Two:
1. If I Were Only A Child Again
2. Can't Say Nothin'
3. Keep On Trippin'
4. Future Song (Love A Good Woman, Love A Good Man)

LP4 - Sweet Exorcist
Side One:

1. Ain't Got Time
2. Sweet Exorcist
3. To Be Invisible
4. Power To The People
Side Two:
1. Kung Fu
2. Suffer
3. Make Me Believe In You

Customers Also Like