Genre: R&B
Label: Rhino
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Linda Clifford
Format: 33RPM,


Curtis Mayfield The Very Best Of Curtis Mayfield 2LP (Blue Vinyl)

Curtis Mayfield

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Black History Month Exclusive!
Compilation Reissued On Limited Edition Blue Vinyl 2LP!

The definitive collection of Curtis Mayfield's reflective, soul moving, evocative hits. Includes everything from the political to the romantic, from cuts from his genre-defining Superfly ("Freddie's Dead") to statement makers like "(Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below, We're All Going To Go".

Rhino's The Very Best of Curtis Mayfield is devoted to material the legendary soul man recorded after leaving the Impressions, focusing particularly on his classic songs from the early '70s. There are more comprehensive compilations on the market, namely the sublime double-disc Anthology and the flawed but worthwhile box set People Get Ready, but this is the best bet for anyone wanting a concise sampler of Mayfield's groundbreaking funk-soul, since it contains all of the bare-bone essentials: '(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go,' 'Move on Up,' 'We Got to Have Peace,' 'Freddie's Dead,' 'Superfly,' 'Pusherman,' 'Future Shock,' and 'Kung Fu.' Yes, Mayfield also made cohesive, frequently stunning albums during this era and his work with the Impressions was just as influential, but this disc benefits from its narrow focus, since the end result is a collection ideal for the curious and the novice, while also providing a great listen for anyone who already knows the records.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AllMusic


  • Black History Month 2022 Exclusive
  • Limited Edition
  • Blue Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in Canada


Side One:

  1. (Don't Worry) If There Is A Hell Below, We're All Going To Go
  2. The Makings Of You
  3. Move On Up

Side Two:

  1. Get Down
  2. We Got To Have Peace
  3. Freddie's Dead (Theme From 'Superfly')
  4. Superfly
  5. Pusherman

Side Three:

  1. Future Shock
  2. Can't Say Nothin'
  3. Kung Fu
  4. So In Love

Side Four:

  1. Only You Babe
  2. Do Do Wap Is Strong In Here
  3. Between You Baby And Me (with Linda Clifford)
  4. Do Be Down

Customers Also Like