Genre: Pop Rock


Daniel Lanois Acadie 180g 2LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Limited to Only 1,000 Copies!!!
Double 180 Gram Vinyl! RECORD STORE DAY Exclusive!
Remastered from the Original Tapes! Mastering by Ray Staff!
Pressed at Pallas, Germany! A Blend of Cajun, Rhythm & Blues, Rock and New Age Ambiance!

Daniel Lanois' Debut Album featuring a Star-Studded Cast including Aaron Neville, Brian Eno and more! Great Sound and Music... A MUST Have!!!

Diverse Records presents the classic Daniel Lanois debut LP "Acadie"! Available on vinyl for the first time since 1989!

Lanois started his production career when he was 17, working in his own studio with his brother Bob Lanois in the basement of their mother's Ancaster, Ontario home, recording local artists. Within ten years his production talents saw him working with Brian Eno (Ambient 4), and onto classic albums by U2 (The Unforgettable Fire, The Joshua Tree), Peter Gabriel (Birdy, So) and Bob Dylan (Oh Mercy). Inspired by a move from Canada to New Orleans, and sublime recording sessions with the Neville Brothers (Yellow Moon) and Dylan, Daniel's debut album as a recording artist was released in 1989.

"Acadie" is a stunning blend of styles, fusing Cajun, rhythm and blues, rock and new age ambience, taking influence from many of Lanois' recent production works. Most noticeably among those are Peter Gabriel's So and Robbie Robertson, but also the Neville Brothers and U2, members of whom appear in the stellar line up of musicians here.

This deluxe redesigned reissue includes the classic album and seven unreleased gems from the vault. Remastered from the original tapes. A new expanded sleeve design featuring exclusive photographs, artwork, and all of the lyrics along with annotations by Daniel.

"The album is about as perfect a debut as an artist could hope for, containing every single aspect of what makes Lanois so special, presenting him as both a fertile author and a gifted musician... There is a feeling of reminiscence and nostalgia about this album that is powerfully haunting. It's a flawless classic without a single wasted moment, and flows from start to finish with passion and beauty. " - Nenad Georgievski, All About Jazz

"This stunning debut album by an artist that had hitherto been known only as a producer is priceless, and stands up well to repeated listening." - Bob Gottelieb, Allmusic

"Daniel Lanois's self-produced debut album proved at once familiar in its thick, swampy sonics and startling in its pared-down, intimate scale. Populated with rural characters, his detailed stories evoke a lost time through two-step acoustic love songs, narrative ballads, and a hushed, propulsive prayer; 'The Maker' features a ghostly, restrained harmony vocal by Aaron Neville. The underlying historical link between old Acadian culture in his title and its descendant Cajun culture surviving in Louisiana's bayous and backwoods gives the songs and these performances a haunting, and haunted poignancy." - Sam Sutherland, Amazon

• Limited to Only 1,000 Copies!!!
• 180 Gram Double Vinyl
• First Time Available on Vinyl Since 1989
• Remastered from the Original Tapes
• Mastering by Ray Staff
• Pressed at Pallas, Germany
• New Deluxe Expanded Sleeve Design featuring Exclusive Photographs, Artwork + All of the Lyrics with Annotations by Daniel
• Guest Appearances by members of the Neville Brothers & U2
• Special 'Goldtop Edition' that Includes 7 Bonus Tracks, including Exclusive Vinyl Only Track "Little Mustang"
• Gatefold Sleeve

Daniel Lanois, guitar, bass, omnichord, vocals
Malcolm Burn, keyboards, guitars, backing vocals
Brian Eno, keyboards, vocals
Tony Hall, bass
Willie Greene, drums
Adam Clayton, bass
Larry Mullen Jr., drums
Pierre Marchand, keyboards
Mason Ruffner, guitar
Roger Eno, piano
Ed Roth, accordion
James May, trumpet
Cyril Neville, percussion
Art Neville, piano
Aaron Neville, vocals
Bill Dillon, guitar

LP1 - Side A:
1. Still Water
2. The Maker
3. O Marie
4. Jolie Louise
5. Fisherman's Daughter
6. White Mustang II
LP1 - Side B:
1. Under The Stormy Sky
2. Where The Hawkwind Kills
3. Silium's Hill
4. Ice
5. St. Anne's Gold
6. Amazing Grace
LP2 - Side C:
1. The Maker (early bass and lyrics) (Bonus Track)
2. The Maker (Calipso demo) (Bonus Track)
3. Still Water (from Eno's house) (Bonus Track)
4. Jolie Louise (before Dublin) (Bonus Track)
LP2 - Side D:
1. Early Dourado Sketch (Bonus Track)
2. The Source Of Fisherman's Daughter (Bonus Track)
3. Little Mustang (Bonus Track) (Exclusive Vinyl Only Track)

Customers Also Like