Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Rhino


David Bowie Glastonbury 2000 2CD & 1DVD

David Bowie

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Legendary Full Performance Officially Released For The First Time!
Includes Many Of Bowie's Greatest Hits & Never-Before-Seen Footage!

Parlophone Records in association with BBC Studios and Glastonbury Festivals Ltd. are proud to announce DAVID BOWIE GLASTONBURY 2000 on 2CD/DVD, documenting Bowie's legendary Sunday night headline performance on June 25 at the most famous festival on earth.

The package includes the full 21 song greatest hits set and for the first time, a DVD of the entire show (only 37 minutes of which has ever been broadcast on TV) including the Glastonbury performance of "Heroes", a highlight of the record breaking 'David Bowie Is…' exhibition and the only track that has been previously released.

Also featured is Bowie's diary, originally written for Time Out, which documents him preparing for the show in his own inimitable manner:

"As of 1990 I got through the rest of the 20th century without having to do a big hits show. Yes, yes, I know I did four or five hits on the later shows but I held out pretty well I thought...big, well known songs will litter the field at Glastonbury this year. Well, with a couple of quirks of course."

In addition to newly mastered audio, DAVID BOWIE GLASTONBURY 2000 features new artwork from Jonathan Barnbrook (who worked with Bowie on the sleeves for Heathen, The Next Day, & Blackstar) and notes from the renowned author and Bowie fan Caitlin Moran, who reviewed the show for The Times.

The package features photos of Bowie resplendently dressed in a 3/4 length one-of-a-kind Alexander McQueen frock coat, the pattern of which was made to echo the hat (the famous 'bipperty-bopperty hat' mentioned in the song "Queen Bitch") and worn by Bowie at his Glastonbury Fayre debut in 1971.

Glastonbury co-organizer Emily Eavis commented, "I often get asked what the best set I've seen here at Glastonbury is, and Bowie's 2000 performance is always one which I think of first. It was spellbinding; he had an absolutely enormous crowd transfixed. I think Bowie had a very deep relationship with Worthy Farm and he told some wonderful stories about his first time at the Festival in 1971, when he stayed at the farmhouse and performed at 6am as the sun was rising. And he just played the perfect headline set. It really was a very special and emotional show".

Emily's father Michael, the founder of the festival who first met David at Glastonbury in 1971, said "He's one of the three greatest of all-time: Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley and David Bowie."

"Not only the greatest Glastonbury headline performance but the best headline slot at any festival ever" - NME

• 2CD & 1 DVD
• Newly mastered audio
• DVD of entire show
• DVD region code: All (0)
• Aspect Ratio: 16:9
• Duration: 1 hour 55 minutes
• Bowie diary
• New artwork from Bowie collaborator Jonathan Barnbrook
• Notes from author and Bowie fan Caitlin Moran
• Photos
• Official release
• Suitable only for persons of 12 years and over: Infrequent strong language, drug references, sex references
• This product contains flashing images

CD 1:

1. Introduction (Greensleeves)
2. Wild Is The Wind
3. China Girl
4. Changes
5. Stay
6. Life On Mars?
7. Absolute Beginners
8. Ashes To Ashes
9. Rebel Rebel
10. Little Wonder
11. Golden Years
CD 2:
1. Fame
2. All The Young Dudes
3. The Man Who Sold The World
4. Station To Station
5. Starman
6. Hallo Spaceboy
7. Under Pressure
8. Ziggy Stardust
9. "Heroes"
10. Let's Dance
11. I'm Afraid Of Americans
1. Introduction (Greensleeves)
2. Wild Is The Wind
3. China Girl
4. Changes
5. Stay
6. Life On Mars?
7. Absolute Beginners
8. Ashes To Ashes
9. Rebel Rebel
10. Little Wonder
11. Golden Years
12. Fame
13. All The Young Dudes
14. The Man Who Sold The World
15. Station To Station
16. Starman
17. Hallo Spaceboy
18. Under Pressure
19. Ziggy Stardust
20. "Heroes"
21. Let's Dance
22. I'm Afraid Of Americans

Customers Also Like