Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


David Hazeltine Trio Cleopatra's Dream Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The David Hazeltine Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Stellar Trio Performs Compositions from Bud Powell!

David Hazeltine is one of the best pianists and arrangers of our time. For a while now he has been releasing albums dedicated to specific musicians and composers. For Cleopatra's Dream, Hazeltine performed compositions by the legendary Bud Powell.

For most pianists, it would be a formidable task to rework Powell's compositions as he was a respected guitarist who could play the instrument as well as anyone. Hazeltine wildly succeeds by not trying to ape Powell's unique style but rather by bringing out the elegant melodies and tenderness of the compositions.

George Mraz on bass and Billy Drummond on drums provide exceptional support and add dazzling solos. The title of Hazeltine's only composition on the album says it all: "This One's for Bud."

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

David Hazeltine, piano
George Mraz, bass
Billy Drummond, drums

1. Cleopatra's Dream
2. Tempus Fugit
3. Glass Enclosure
4. Wail
5. Bouncing With Bud
6. Danceland
7. Strictly Confidential
8. Dance Of Infidels
9. I'll Keep Loving You
10. This One's For Bud

Customers Also Like