Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


David Hazeltine Trio Waltz For Debby Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The David Hazeltine Trio

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

A Tribute Album to the Great Bill Evans!

With David Hazeltine playing piano, George Mraz on bass and Billy Drummond on drums, this album includes "Time Remembered", "Bill at Peace" and "Funkallero".

"Vetran bassist George Mraz is a veteran of many sessions as a sideman for Venus, and drummer Billy Drummond is also a first-call player, while both fit the mold of musicians who would have complemented Evans himself. Hazeltine never attempts to outright copy Evans' playing style, beginning with a breezy 'Waltz for Debby' that percolates with energy. Ballads are always an acid test for jazz musicians, and Hazeltine's treatment of the bittersweet 'Time Remembered' brings out the lyricism of this beautiful work. Mraz is showcased in good light in the challenging 'Funkallero.' Hazeltine has one solo feature, the intricate original 'Bill at Peace,' in which the late pianist's influence is readily apparent." - Ken Dryden, AllMusic

Recorded at the Clinton Recording Studio in New York on December 27, 1998.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

David Hazeltine, piano
George Mraz, bass
Billy Drummond, drums

1. Waltz For Debby (B. Evans)
2. Peri's Scope (B. Evans)
3. Time Remembered (B. Evans)
4. Show TypeTune (B. Evans)
5. Very Early (B. Evans)
6. Bill At Peace (D. Hazeltine)
7. Funkallero (B. Evans)
8. The Two Lonely People (B. Evans)
9. Turn Out The Stars (B. Evans)

Customers Also Like