Dawn To Dust Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Colin Currie

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Three World Premieres! Commissioned For the Utah Symphony's 75th Anniversary!

Dawn to Dust contains live recordings of three significant and adventurous works by leading composers Augusta Read Thomas, Nico Muhly, and Andrew Norman.  World-renowned percussionist Colin Currie performs on Andrew Norman's "Switch".

The Utah Symphony, celebrating its 75th anniversary in the 2015-2016 season, is one of America's major symphony orchestras and a leading cultural organization in the Intermountain West.  It is recognized internationally for its distinctive performances, commitment to music education programs, and recording legacy.

Founded in 1940, the Utah Symphony became recognized as a leading American ensemble largely through the efforts of Maurice Abravanel, Music Director from 1947 to 1979.  During his tenure, the orchestra undertook four international tours, released numerous recordings and developed an extensive music education program.  Dawn to Dust furthers the tradition of outstanding contemporary American music from the Utah Symphony, and is the second in an ongoing Utah Symphony series from Reference Recordings.

The Utah Symphony has performed in many of the world's prestigious concert halls including Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, Musikverein, Konzerthaus, Philharmonie, Schauspielhaus, Gewandhaus, Royal Festival Hall, and Teatro Colon. 

Thierry Fischer, Music Director of the Utah Symphony since 2009, has revitalized the orchestra with creative programming and critically acclaimed performances that have drawn consistently full houses.  Highlights of his tenure include complete symphony cycles of Mahler in commemoration of former Utah Symphony Music Director, Maurice Abravanel, complete Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Nielsen cycles, a multi-season Stravinsky and Haydn symphony cycle and the tour of Utah's five national parks.  Mr. Fischer has alto initiated a major commissioning program in Utah that has produced works by Simon Holt, Michael Jarrell, and the works on this album by Nico Muhly, Andrew Norman, and Augusta Read Thomas.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD 5.1 Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Colin Currie, percussion (13)
Utah Symphony
Thierry Fischer, music director

Augusta Read Thomas
EOS (Goddess of the Dawn)
, a Ballet for Orchestra
1. Dawn
2. Daybright and Firebright
3. Shimmering
4. Dreams and Memories
5. Spring Rain
6. Golden Chariot
7. Sunlight

Nico Muhly
(Five Landscapes for Orchestra)
8. Landform
9. Mountain
10. Beehive
11. Petroglyph & Tobacco
12. Red Dust

Andrew Norman

13. Switch

Total playing time, 69:31

Customers Also Like