Genre: Electronic
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Deee-Lite World Clique 180g Import LP


$29.99 $39.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

180g Audiophile Vinyl LP!
Includes the 1990 Dance Hit "Groove Is in the Heart"!
Featuring Bootsy Collins, Q-Tip, Fred Wesley & Maceo Parker!

World Clique is the debut album by the dance-music band Deee-Lite, released in 1990. The album's first single, ''Groove Is in the Heart'," was a top-five success on both the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 and UK Singles Chart as well as a number-one hit on the U.S. Hot Dance Club Play chart.

Three subsequent singles also hit the top ten on the U.S. dance chart, including ''Power of Love/Build That Bridge'' and ''Good Beat," which also hit number one.

Guest artists on the album include Bootsy Collins (''Try Me On... I'm Very You,'' ''Smile On,'' ''Groove Is in the Heart,'' and ''Who Was That?''), Q-Tip (''Groove Is in the Heart''), and Fred Wesley and Maceo Parker (Try Me On... I'm Very You,'' ''Smile On,'' ''Groove Is in the Heart'').

Its reputation may rest on only one hit single — but what a hit. 'Groove Is in the Heart' defined the summer of 1990 on radio and MTV with its delicious combination of funk, modern dance sheen, and Lady Miss Kier's smart, sharp diva ways. Add in guest vocals and bass from Bootsy Collins, brass from the original Horny Horns duo of Fred Wesley and Maceo Parker, and a smooth mid-song rap from A Tribe Called Quest's Q-Tip, and the results sounded good then and now. The rest of World Clique offers variations on the song's theme, with Kier's sweet, light vocals and DJs Dimitri and Towa Tei making it work in various ways... Disco is the heart of it all, with everything from hip-hop breaks to bubble-salsa piano — even early Depeche Mode! — taking a bow; hints of the future genre-mashing Towa Tei would make his own trademark are already plentiful. Bootsy and the Horny Horns crop up at other points as well, adding just enough classic funk to blend with the crisper electronic pulses and arrangements.
-Ned Raggett, AllMusic, 4.5/5


  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Black Vinyl
  • Insert
  • Import


Side A:

  1. Good Beat
  2. Power of Love
  3. Try Me On ... I'm Very You
  4. Smile On
  5. What Is Love?

Side B:

  1. World Clique
  2. E.S.P.
  3. Groove Is in the Heart
  4. Who Was That?
  5. Deep Ending

Customers Also Like