Dinah Washington The Jazz Sides DMM 180g Import 2LP

Dinah Washington

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Exciting Jazz Performances On 180g Double LP!

Dinah Washington was an American singer and pianist, who has been cited as "the most popular black female recording artist of the '50s". In the 1950s and early 1960s before her death, Washington occasionally performed on the Las Vegas Strip. Tony Bennett said of Washington during a recording session with Amy Winehouse: "She used to just come in with two suitcases in Vegas without being booked. And she'd just come in and put the suitcases down. And she'd say 'I'm here, boss'. And she'd stay as long as she wanted. And all the kids in all the shows on the Strip would come that night. They'd hear that she's in town and it would be packed just for her performance."

"This two-LP set has many of singer Dinah Washington's most exciting jazz performances. For the first album Washington is joined by such masterful players as trumpeter Clark Terry, trombonist Jimmy Cleveland and tenorman Paul Quinichette on a variety of Quincy Jones arrangements. Four other selections are from a particularly heated session with an explosive nonet propelled by Terry and tenor-saxophonist Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis; 'Bye Bye Blues' is really taken uptempo but somehow Washington still sounds under control. The final four numbers are from the 1958 Newport Jazz Festival (with solos from pianist Wynton Kelly and vibraphonist Terry Gibbs) and can be considered her final jazz sides before going strictly commercial." - AllMusic

"She had a voice that was like the pipes of life. She could take the melody in her hand, hold it like an egg, crack it open, fry it, let it sizzle, reconstruct it, put the egg back in the box and back in the refrigerator, and you would've still understood every single syllable of every single word she sang. Every single melody she sang she made hers. Once she put her soulful trademark on a song, she owned it and it was never the same." - Quincy Jones

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Direct Metal Master
• Original recordings - remastered
• Gatefold jacket
• Import
• Made in the E.U.

LP 1
Side A:

1. I Could Write A Book
2. Make The Man Love Me
3. Blue Gardenia
4. You Don't Know What Love Is
5. My Old Flame
Side B:
1. Easy Livin'
2. I Get A Kick Out Of You
3. This Can't Be Love
4. If I Had You
LP 2
Side A:

1. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
2. A Foggy Day
3. Bye Bye Blues
Side B:
1. Blue Skies
2. Lover Come Back To Me
3. Crazy Love
4. Backwater Blues
5. All Of Me

Customers Also Like