Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Optic Nerve
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Direct Hits The Broadway Recording Sessions Import LP (Blue Vinyl)

Direct Hits

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Original 1982 Pre-'Blow Up' Recordings On Blue Vinyl LP!
Restored & Remastered From The Original 1/4" Tape!
Previously Unreleased On Vinyl!
Includes Fold-Out Poster & 3 Art Prints!

Way back in 1982, Battersea-based mod heroes The Direct Hits had released one single on Dan Treacy's Whamm! record label, "Modesty Blaise," earlier in the year. This was singled out in the music press as not just one of your average jam crash/bang/wallop mod revivalist tunes. Whamm! was struggling to provide the funds to record an album, the songs were too good not to commit to a full 12" set, so the Direct Hits pooled their limited resources and self-financed a very cheap one day recording session in a tiny studio in Tooting, South London called Broadway Sound.

Early on the morning of August 12th, 1982 the band, comprising of Colin Swan, Geno Buckmaster, Brian Grover, and their trusty roadie "Robbo" assembled at the tiny studio to begin recording as many of their songs as they could get down on tape for the tiny budget they had scraped together. As most of the songs were already well rehearsed thanks to the band's busy live schedule, the recording of the first nine songs on this disc were finished by mid-afternoon. Throughout the rest of the day, the band toiled over scant overdubs with limited keyboard facilities and a distinct lack of musical ability. The recordings immediately came to life however, when Colin Swan and Geno Buckmaster's stage-honed tight harmonies were added, there was no time for vocal overdubs, and the mixing was completed by midnight.

Tired and worn out, the band ventured out into the cold night air happy with the day's work, clutching the precious reel-to-reel tape. Two weeks later the band came back with a friend producing, and recorded the three final tracks featured on this album which have a more rounded slightly less raw sound. All three were completed in an afternoon. Almost two years later they re-recorded some of these songs, and along with a handful of new songs from the pen of Buckmaster and Swan, recorded their Blow Up debut album at Rendezvous Studios in Sydenham, South East London, released on Whaam! Records in August 1984. A few didn't make it to the first album, but those that did, as you will hear, stayed reasonably faithful to the original arrangements. Remastered.


  • Blue Vinyl LP
  • Restored & Remastered from the original 1/4" tape
  • First time on vinyl
  • Deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • Fab color inner bag with printed lyrics
  • A2-Size Poster
  • 3 Art Prints of each individual band member
  • UK Import


Side One:

  1. Ride My Bicycle
  2. I Start Counting
  3. Too Shy
  4. Leander, By The River
  5. Miranda Berkley
  6. This Was, Marc Deans

Side Two:

  1. Naughty Little Boy
  2. What Killed Aleister Crowley?
  3. I'd Rather Stay Than Go
  4. Sunny Honey Girl
  5. I Feel The Earth Move
  6. Start Living

Customers Also Like