Don Cherry The Summer House Sessions LP

Don Cherry

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

'Lost' Album Released On Vinyl LP For The First Time!

In 1968, Don Cherry had already established himself as one of the leading voices of the avant-garde. Having pioneered free jazz as a member of Ornette Coleman's classic quartet, and with a high-profile collaboration with John Coltrane under his belt, the globetrotting jazz trumpeter settled in Sweden with his partner Moki and her daughter Neneh. There, he assembled a group of Swedish musicians and led a series of weekly workshops at the ABF, or Workers' Educational Association, from February to April of 1968, with lessons on extended forms of improvisation including breathing, drones, Turkish rhythms, overtones, silence, natural voices, and Indian scales. That summer, saxophonist and recording engineer Göran Freese invited Don, members of his two working bands, and a Turkish drummer to his summer house in Kummelnäs, just outside of Stockholm, for a series of rehearsals and jam sessions.

Long relegated to the status of a mysterious footnote in Don's session-ography, tapes from this session, as well as one professionally mixed tape intended for release, were recently found in the vaults of the Swedish Jazz Archive, and the lost Summer House Sessions are finally available over fifty years after they were recorded.

On July 20, the musicians gathered at Freese's summer house included Bernt Rosengren (tenor saxophone, flutes, clarinet), Tommy Koverhult (tenor saxophone, flutes), Leif Wennerström (drums), and Torbjörn Hultcrantz (bass) from Don's Swedish group; Jacques Thollot (drums) and Kent Carter (bass) from his newly formed international band New York Total Music Company; Bülent Ates (hand drum, drums), who was visiting from Turkey; and Don (pocket trumpet, flutes, percussion) himself.

Lacking a common language, the players used music as their common means of communication. In this way, these frenetic and freewheeling sessions anticipate Don's turn to more explicitly pan-ethnic expression, preceding his epochal Eternal Rhythm dates by four months. The octet, comprising musicians from America, France, Sweden, and Turkey, was a perfect vehicle for Don's budding pursuit of "collage music," a concept inspired by the shortwave radio on which Don listened to sounds from around the world. Using the collage metaphor, Don eliminated solos and the introduction of tunes, transforming a wealth of melodies, sounds, and rhythms into poetic suites of different moods and changing forms.

The Summer House Sessions ensemble joyously layers manifold cultural idioms, traversing the airy peaks and serene valleys of Cherry's earthly vision.


  • Vinyl LP
  • First ever release
  • Recorded July 20, 1968 at Kummelnäs, Sweden by Göran Freese
  • From tapes found in the vaults of the Swedish Jazz Archive
  • Audio restoration by Robbie Lee
  • Mastered for vinyl by Kassian Troyer at Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin
  • Liner notes by Magnus Nygren & Andy Lampert
  • Album art featuring a cover painting by Moki Cherry: Untitled, ca. 1967-68


Don Cherry pocket trumpet, flutes, percussion
Bernt Rosengren tenor saxophone, flutes, clarinet
Tommy Koverhult tenor saxophone, flutes
Torbjörn Hultcrantz bass
Kent Carter bass
Jacques Thollot drums
Leif Wennerström drums
Bülent Ates hand drum, drums


Side A:

  1. Human
  2. The Machine Age
  3. Sir Charles Brackeen "A"
  4. 9/8 For T, Part I

Side B:

  1. 9/8 For T, Part II
  2. Mao
  3. Santuario Do Morro
  4. Samba
  5. Theme
  6. Sir Charles Brackeen "B"
  7. Sir Charles Brackeen "C"
  8. Plotsligt
  9. Om Igen

Customers Also Like