Genre: Blues


Doug MacLeod Brand New Eyes CD

Doug Macleod

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Doug MacLeod has been a beacon of unquestionably honest roots-music since the 1970s. On Brand New Eyes, he presents 11 original songs. He is the rare artist who writes and sings songs that are based on his own life and experiences. He is a 2011 Blues Music Award nominee and an American troubadour. Glenn Nishida at Pacifica Studios was the recording engineer, and Reference Recordings' Keith Johnson did the final mastering. Keith states it has very good sonics and sends it out with his blessing! Doug's music and recordings are beloved by blues fans and by audiophiles alike (he had several hits in past years on the Audioquest label) and Reference Recordings/Fresh! is proud to present Brand New Eyes to you!

"MacLeod uses his ability as a storyteller to enable us to briefly see the world through his eyes. His spellbinding performances will captivate you, just as he does on a live stage. And the superb sonic qualities of this recording are exactly what you would expect from a label that is part of the Reference Recordings group, a label with a long history of audiophile-quality releases. No questions here – this one comes highly recommended!!!!" - Mark Thompson - Crossroads Blues Society Music and Video Reviews

"When you close your eyes and listen to Doug MacLeod, it's difficult to decide what you like best, his expressive guitar technique or his passionate approach to vocals. Both are exemplary and have been over the past 16 releases. The title track, alone, is enough to stop traffic...songs like 'Midnight in Memphis' (the sole co-write) single-handedly redefines the potential of acoustic blues to deliver a well-placed goose bump. The final track is a highlight as 'Welcome In Your Home' closes off the party with a memorable slide workout and of the album's most heartfelt vocals - classic MacLeod. It's the perfect soundtrack to, as he hopes, encourage us all to look at the world around us afresh, with Brand New Eyes." - Eric Thom, Sing Out! magazine

Fresh!, which is an offshoot of Reference Recordings' 34-year-old independent classical and jazz audiophile label, offers productions from all music genres. Reference Recordings' wants you to enjoy them! Talented artists and producers have often offered up masters to Reference Recordings, but before this they didn’t have a way to release them. Unlike Reference Recordings releases, most of FRESH! offerings will not be recorded by the RR team. RR will endeavor to have input prior to recording, and have a hands-on role in editing, post production and/or mastering phases of production.

• Mastered by Prof. Keith O. Johnson

1. Brand New Eyes
2. Something Dark is Walking
3. The Train of Change
4. Midnight in Memphis
5. Zu-Zu Woman
6. One Eyed Owl
7. Somewhere South of Somewhere (instrumental)
8. I Rolled a Nickel
9. The Nature of the Man
10. Some Old Blues Song (aka I Can Count on My Blues)
11. Welcome In Your Home

Total playing time, 55:53

Recorded in November 2009 at Pacific Studios, Culver City, CA.

Customers Also Like