Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Rhino
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Echo & The Bunnymen The John Peel Sessions 1979-83 180g 2LP

Echo & The Bunnymen

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl Double LP!

Double LP set features 21 tracks recorded for John Peel's Radio 1 show during the band's early years. Pressed on 180g Black Vinyl.

In seventies Liverpool the bloated corpse of the fab four slumped against the door of The Cavern, shutting out all life and light. Punk eventually kicked that door open, the city bulldozed The Cavern and Eric's opened across the street. If in London, punk was some kind of scorched earth year zero in Liverpool it allowed in a wider musical world. Bowie and Iggy, Kraftwerk and Can. The 13th Floor Elevators, James Brown, Roxy Music, Donna Summer, The Modern Lovers, Television and more tumbled belatedly into the music of the bands forming at Eric's. None picked up the torch of rock 'n' roll as hero's journey quite like Echo & the Bunnymen did.

If you were just looking for an introduction to their charms, I'd probably suggest Songs To Learn and Sing, the impeccable singles collection covering this same period, but this album offers more than a completist fan's release. The first session (Aug '79) was recorded before they were persuaded to get a real drummer. Echo was the name of their drum machine. The beats are stiff, like someone hitting a sheet of A4 with a biro. It makes the songs thin and clanky, underscoring the swing and space Pete De Freitas' playing would soon bring. Still, they turn in confident, well rehearsed versions of songs that would end up on their debut album Crocodiles. But it opens, perfectly, with 'Read It In Books'. Let's blow the dust off and crack the spine on that chapter shall we?


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in the EU


Record One

Side 1:
  1. Read It In Books
  2. Stars Are Stars
  3. I Bagsy Yours
  4. Villiers Terrace
  5. The Pictures On My Wall
  6. All That Jazz
Side 2:
  1. Over The Wall
  2. All My Colours
  3. That Golden Smile
  4. Heaven Up Here
  5. Turquoise Days

Record Two

Side 1:
  1. Taking Advantage
  2. An Equation
  3. No Hands
  4. Silver
  5. Seven Seas
Side 2:
  1. The Killing Moon
  2. Nocturnal Me
  3. Watch Out Below
  4. Ocean Rain
  5. My Kingdom

Customers Also Like