Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Eddie Higgins Quintet A Handful Of Stars Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Eddie Higgins Quintet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

The Golden Quintet Returns!

Arguably the biggest star in the Venus Records roster, pianist Eddie Higgins has released numerous trio recordings from the label. He also has an on-going collaboration with veteran tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton, beginning with the 2001 quartet album Smoke Gets In Your Eyes and continuing with My Foolish Heart and My Funny Valentine.

Wonderful clarinetist and tenorist Ken Peplowski joined this union to make it a quintet on It's Magic, which won the Swing Journal 2007 Best Compilation Award. Now, the golden quintet returns with their latest, A Handful of Stars. The three giants, assisted ably by Jay Leonhart and Joe Ascione, create beautiful and romantic music in a relaxed mood.

They are not breaking any new ground here, but their masterful tastes, gentle swing and warm interactions are as lovely and comfortable as a fireplace in the middle of winter.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Eddie Higgins, piano
Scott Hamilton, tenor sax
Ken Peplowski, tenor sax, clarinet
Jay Leonhart, bass
Joe Ascione, drums


1. In Love In Vain
2. You Leave Me Breathless
3. A Handful Of Stars
4. Come Rain Or Come Shine
5. April In Torino
6. Night Has A Thousand Eyes
7. Flamingo
8. Breezin' Along With The Breeze
9. A Portrait Of Jenny
10. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
11. All Too Soon

Customers Also Like