Genre: Christmas
Label: Venus


Eddie Higgins Trio Christmas Songs II Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Eddie Higgins Trio

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Second Christmas Album from Eddie Higgins!

Christmas Songs II is the second Christmas album by pianist Eddie Higgins for the Venus Records label. Higgins, who originally hails from Chicago and now lives in Florida, is somewhat obscure in the US but he is extremely popular in Japan due in part to the success of his many Venus releases over the past decade.

Higgins performs the classic Christmas songs on Christmas Songs II with considerable flavor and style, spicing them up with subtle harmonies and a sense of rhythm. Higgins is joined on this release by Scott Hamilton on tenor sax, Ben Riley on drums, and George Mraz on bass.

A solid bop-based pianist, Eddie Higgins has been well respected by his fellow musicians for decades. After growing up in New England, he moved to Chicago, where he played in all types of situations before settling into a long stint as the leader of the house trio at the London House (1957-1969). Higgins moved back to Massachusetts in 1970 and went on to freelance, often accompanying his wife, vocalist Meredith D’Ambrosio, and appearing at jazz parties.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Eddie Higgins, piano
George Mraz, bass
Ben Riley, drums
Scott Hamilton, tenor sax

1. Joy To The World
2. The First Noel
3. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
4. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
5. Good King Wenceslas
6. We Three Kings Of Orient Are
7. We Wish You A Merry Christmas
8. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
9. Winter Dreams
10. The Little Drummer Boy
11. Silent Night
12. Jingle Bells

Customers Also Like