Eero Koivistoinen Altered Things 2LP

Eero Koivistoinen

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming November 19, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

First Time On Vinyl!
Includes 3 Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks!

"The making of Picture in Three Colours in 1983 had left me hungry - I wanted to make another record in New York. A new chance came eight years later, in September 1991. This time I wanted to have three horns - the saxophone, plus a trumpet and a trombone. Arranging for three horns is a challenge; the possibilities for the voicings are limited.

I started planning the project with Ron McClure in good time. We invited Jack De Johnette and John Scofield again, and for the trumpet we got the great Randy Brecker. Conrad Herwig was to play trombone and Dave Kikoski piano. All of the guys were busy and in great demand; I was lucky to get them along. Now, we had a new dream team. Once again, I was really a lucky fellow! We got a smaller room on the B side of the respected Clinton Studio for the 25th and 26th of September, with the experienced Jim Anderson as our engineer. This time, the musicians wished to have demos and sheets of music in advance, if only possible. I sent them material by mail.

When in New York, I stayed at Ron McClure's place; his couch was already familiar to me from my earlier visits. Before recording, we played the compositions once live at Visiones Jazz Club in the Village. It was good to get some touch with the music before recording it. The studio had been booked for two days. Sco got along on the second day. Most of my compositions were new; 'Clear Dream' - a duo for soprano and piano - was an exception. We also included 'Kabuki' composed by Seppo Kantonen, and 'Inspiration' by Ron McClure.

I mixed the album in Rainbow Studio in Oslo, Norway, with Erik Konshaug. It was good to take some distance before the mixing, listen to various takes, and try to digest them. Bugge Wesseltoft overdubbed synthesizer on three numbers. Timeless Records issued only the CD - vinyl had become outdated by then.

The record was well received. Bill Milkowski of DownBeat described the band in his positive criticism: 'Its lineup as imposing as the vintage New York Yankees' mythical Murderers Row.' Down Beat gave the record 4 1/2 stars. The reissue of Svart Records includes my compositions 'Facts' and 'Never Again' and the second take of 'Clear Dream' as bonus tracks."

February 2021,

Eero Koivistoinen

The horn charts are smartly arranged by the tenor and soprano saxophonist, and played to perfection. The music is contemporary, bop-based, modernistic, and well-swung...Koivistoinen displays a nice combination of Wayne Shorter's harmonic sense and Michael Brecker's lyricism. This is highly recommended.
-Michael G. Nastos,, 4/5 stars


  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Double Vinyl LP
  • 3 Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks
  • Gatefold Sleeve
  • Liner Notes by Eero Koivistoinen & Ron McClure


Ron McClure bass
Jack De Johnette drums
John Scofield guitar
Dave Kikoski piano
Bugge Wesseltoft synthesizer
Eero Koivistoinen tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Conrad Herwig trombone
Randy Brecker trumpet


Side A:

  1. Kabuki
  2. Altered Things
  3. Film Noir

Side B:

  1. Everblue
  2. Van Gogh
  3. Palapeli

Side C:

  1. Inspiration
  2. Clear Dream
  3. Maghreb
  4. BLT

Side D:

  1. Never Again - session outtake (Bonus Track)
  2. Facts - session outtake (Bonus Track)
  3. Clear Dream - alternate take (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like