Ella Fitzgerald Ella And Her Fellas 180g Import LP

Ella Fitzgerald

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Original Album + Bonus Tracks On 180g Vinyl LP!

The First Lady Of Song's early works (1946-1956) are mostly from the Decca label produced by the legendary Milt Gabler. Blessed with a beautiful voice and a wide range, Fitzgerald could out swing anyone. She was a brilliant scat singer, and had near-perfect elocution; one could always understand the words she sang. When one evaluates her career as a whole, there is simply no one else in her class. Highlights include "You Won't Be Satisfied" with Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong, "That's The Way It Is" alongside the Ink Spots, the classic "Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own" with Louis Jordan, "It's Only a Paper Moon" as only Ella and the Delta Rhythm Boys could do it, and "Fairy Tales" with the Mills Brothers.

"Anyone who still thinks that Ella Fitzgerald's Decca period was nothing but a big commercial pop wasteland ought to be sentenced to many years of hard labor searching in used record bins for this great anthology from 1957. Thanks to Decca founder Jack Kapp's habit of pairing up his label's performers, Fitzgerald made recordings with an all-star selection of great mid-century musicians, and practically all of their records were concise gems. Louis Armstrong turns up four times here in tracks that prefigure and often surpass their later Verve discs in joie de vivre. There are two irresistible encounters with Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five, including their swinging calypso hit 'Stone Cold Dead in the Market' and a sly 'Baby, It's Cold Outside.' The protean arranger Sy Oliver makes a suave singing appearance in 'Don'cha Go Away Mad,' and Fitzgerald's spare, soulful rendition of 'I Gotta Have My Baby Back' with the Mills Brothers stops the show cold. Fitzgerald's other fellas include the Ink Spots, Eddie Heywood, the Delta Rhythm Boys, and as a nostalgic treat, the original Chick Webb waxing of 'A-Tisket, A-Tasket.'" - AllMusic

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered
• Import
• Made in the E.U.
• Bonus Tracks

Side A:

1. You Won't Be Satisfied (Until You Break My Heart) (feat. Louis Armstrong)
2. That's The Way It is (feat. The Ink Spots)
3. Stone Cold Dead In The Market (He Had It Coming) (feat. Louis Jordan)
4. I Gotta Have My Baby Back (feat. The Mills Brothers)
5. Sentimental Journey (feat. Eddie Heywood & His Orchestra)
6. The Frim Fram Sauce (feat. Louis Armstrong)
7. It's Only A Paper Moon (feat. The Delta Rhythm Boys)
8. Dream A Little Dream For Me (feat. Louis Armstrong)
Side B:
1. Baby, It's Cold Outside (feat. Louis Jordan)
2. A-Tisket A-Tasket (feat. Chick Webb)
3. Would You Like To Take A Walk (Sump'n Good'll Come From That) (feat. Louis Armstrong)
4. Don'cha Go 'Way Mad (feat. Sy Oliver & His Orchestra)
Bonus Tracks:
5. Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own (feat. Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five)
6. Cry You Out Of My Heart (feat. The Delta Rhythm Boys)
7. Fairy Tales (feat. The Mills Brothers)
8. I'm Beginning To See The Light (feat. The Ink Spots)

Customers Also Like