Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong Ella And Louis Again 2LP (Mono)

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Virgin Vinyl High Quality Pressing! Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering!
Includes "I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm", "I Get A Kick Out Of You" And More!

It’s impossible not to praise these recordings to the skies. The two musicians Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong are a sure guarantee for swing and expressiveness, for musicality, and for mutual understanding. One might even go as far as saying that they were the very epitome of jazz between 1930 and 1960, that they were the best of the best as regards quality, that they achieved remarkable success, and were extremely popular. And to crown it all, Oscar Peterson and his Trio, a fantastically groovy rhythm group, were invited to join them in the studio.

The numbers are all from the Great American Songbook and are easily recognizable; the introduction hardly gets underway before your feet are tapping to the beat of "Don’t Be That Way" right up to "Learnin’ The Blues". And it is between these two poles – swing and the blues – that music is made. Producer Norman Granz certainly had a stroke of genius when he signed Ella and Louis to his Verve label. And the recordings brought both the two musicians, and him, excellent sales figures.

If you have never heard these 19 numbers, then let yourself be seduced by Ella and Louis into the world of jazz – just like the present author 40 years ago. Those who have heard these titles over and over again will certainly discover previously unheard subtleties, sophistication, and an astounding rapport between the musicians in this re-release.

• 180g Virgin Vinyl
• High Quality Pressing
• Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering
• Double LP
• Mono

Ella Fitzgerald
Louis Armstrong
Oscar Peterson, piano
Herb Ellis, guitar
Ray Brown, bass
Louis Bellson, drums

Side 1

1. Don't Be That Way
2. Makin' Whoopee
3. They All Laughed
4. Comes Love
5. Autumn In New York
Side 2
6. Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)
7. Stompin' At the Savoy
8. I Won't Dance
9. Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You
Side 3
1. Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
2. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
3. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
4. Willow Weep For Me
5. I'm Puttin' All My Eggs In One Basket
Side 4
6. A Fine Romance
7. Ill Wind
8. Love Is Here To Stay
9. I Get A Kick Out of You
10. Learnin' The Blues

Recording: July and August 1957 in Los Angeles
Production: Norman Granz

Customers Also Like