Genre: Jazz
Label: Verve
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong Ella And Louis Again (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) 180g 2LP

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

All-Analog 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from Original Analog Tapes!
Pressed at QRP!

Analog Planet Rated 10/11 Music, 9/11 Sonics!

Ella and Louis Again, released in 1957 on Verve Records, is the sequel to Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong's 1956 album, Ella and Louis. In contrast to their previous collaboration, this album features seven solo vocal tracks by either Armstrong or Fitzgerald amongst its dozen duet tracks, and Louis Bellson replaces Buddy Rich on drums.

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve Label Group and Universal Music Enterprises' audiophile Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets.

The two Ella And Louis Again LPs in the set I'm reviewing here are thick, dark, quiet, and, most importantly (for me, at least), well-centered. Ryan K. Smith's disc mastering is once again excellent, delivering a clean and punchy vinyl playback experience while sounding true to the release's era... Honestly, I could go through every track and tell you how great each one is - because they are! Ella And Louis Again is an outstanding reissue of an outstanding album. It is an essential release if you are fan of either artist, or simply a fan of great vocal jazz. Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong's simpatico performances must be heard to be fully appreciated. But don't just take it from me - get a copy of the new 180g 2LP Ella And Louis Again set in hand, and go listen for yourself!
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 10/11, Sound 9/11


  • Acoustic Sounds Series Reissue from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • All-Analog
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from Original Analog Tapes
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • Stoughton Printing Gatefold Old-Style Tip-On Jacket


Ella Fitzgerald vocals
Louis Armstrong vocals, trumpet
Herb Ellis guitar
Oscar Peterson piano
Ray Brown bass
Louis Bellson drums


Side 1:

  1. Don't Be That Way
  2. Makin' Whoopee
  3. They All Laughed
  4. Comes Love
  5. Autumn in New York

Side 2:

  1. Let's Do It (Let's Fall in Love)
  2. Stompin' at the Savoy
  3. I Won't Dance
  4. Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You

Side 3:

  1. Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
  2. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  3. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  4. Willow Weep for Me
  5. I'm Puttin' All My Eggs in One Basket

Side 4:

  1. A Fine Romance
  2. Ill Wind
  3. Love Is Here to Stay
  4. I Get a Kick Out of You
  5. Learnin' the Blues

Customers Also Like