Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Elvis Costello Spike 180g Import LP

Elvis Costello

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Vinyl! A Fascinating Effort of Musical Genius! Astonishing Talent! Includes "Veronica" & "Pads, Paws & Claws"!

Elvis Costello is an English singer-songwriter. He began his career as part of London's pub rock scene in the early 1970s and later became associated with the first wave of the British new wave movement of the mid-to-late 1970s. His critically acclaimed debut album, My Aim Is True, was recorded in 1976. Shortly after recording his first album, he formed The Attractions as his backing band. They toured and recorded together for the better part of a decade, though differences between Costello and members of The Attractions caused them to split by 1986. Much of Costello's work since 1986 has been credited to him as a solo artist.

Spike is a real mixed bag to Elvis Costello standards; it seems like he covers the whole musical spectrum on this wonderful album from 1989. Working together with such greats as Paul McCartney, Byrds singer Roger McGuinn and The Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Costello delivers an album that is chok full of variety. Soul, Broadway, Rockabilly, the list of styles goes on and the combined result is a great Pop album. His elastic voice tops it off in good fashion. The album cover says "The Beloved Entertainer" - we couldn't agree more with the nickname.

"Spike... is a far-flung sampler of his musical genius, a fascinating effort informed by its creator's justified frustration that his genius is not more widely recognized... as Spike makes clear, Costello remains an astonishing talent... Costello has said that Spike — named partly in tribute to the popular musical comedian Spike Jones — is his first comedy record. But the comedy that Costello seems most interested in is the human comedy. Spike is a serious piece of work by any standard, a troubling masterpiece by a man who knows full well that clown time is over." - David Wild, Rolling Stone, Rated 4/5 Stars

• Audiophile 180g Vinyl
• Import
• Insert

Side One
1. ...This Town...
2. Let Him Dangle
3. Deep Dark Truthful Mirror
4. Veronica
5. God's Comic
6. Chewing Gum
7. Tramp The Dirt Down
Side Two
1. Stalin Malone
2. Satellite
3. Pads, Paws And Claws
4. Baby Plays Around
5. Miss Macbeth
6. Any King's Shilling
7. Last Boat Leaving