Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Elvis Presley Elvis At Stax 180g 2LP

Elvis Presley

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl Double LP! 40th Anniversary of Elvis' Classic Recordings at Legendary Stax Studios!

Remastered from the Original Session Tapes! All Outtakes Newly Mixed!

40th Anniversary 180g Vinyl Double LP chronicles Presley's last major studio sessions spent at Stax Recording Studios in his hometown of Memphis in July and December 1973.

Elvis At Stax bristles with energy and dynamism including singles that skirted the Top 40 from 1973 to 1975. 

The desire for a new sound found Elvis performing with members of Booker T. and The MGs, The Memphis Boys and his own TCB Band.

Etched in music history, 1973 was a crucial watershed year for Presley, in the wake of his return to extended concert touring in 1972, after 12 years away from the stage and 27 movies in Hollywood.  His manager, Colonel Tom Parker, sought a world-class mega-event to underscore the touring, which led to the one-hour global satellite broadcast from the Honolulu International Center Arena on January 14, 1973, viewed by over one billion people around the world.

The highs of 1972-'73 led Presley and Colonel Parker to accept a multi-million dollar offer from RCA for an outright transfer of Presley's complete back catalog. He wanted a new start, new control, and a new publishing company.  But the RCA deal also called for his return to the studio and a promise for him to deliver 24 new masters.

Four years earlier, in 1969, Presley had made his Memphis recording return at Chips Moman's American Studios.  These triumphantly successful sessions had yielded a year-long string of 'comeback' hit singles including "In the Ghetto" and "Suspicious Minds".  But by 1973, American Studios had closed up shop, and most of its musicians had relocated to Nashville.  However, Stax Studios, the launching pad of such greats as Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett, Booker T. and The MGs, and Isaac Hayes, was still thriving at its original space on McLemore Avenue.  In fact, Isaac Hayes relinquished his studio time to accommodate Presley.

Presley spent 12 days at Stax in 1973 (July 21-25, and December 10-16), and the roller coaster ride of those sessions is detailed in Gordon's liner notes.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• 40th Anniversary of Elvis' Classic Recordings at Legendary Stax Studios
• Remastered from Original Session Tapes
• All Outtakes Newly Mixed

LP1 - Side 1:
1. Promised Land
2. I've Got A Thing About You Baby
3. If You Talk In Your Sleep
4. Raised On Rock
5. Help Me
LP1 - Side 2:
1. I Got A Feelin' In My Body (Take 4)
2. For Ol' Times Sake (Take 4)
3. Talk About the Good Times (Take 3)
4. Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues (Take 8)
LP2 - Side 3:
1. You Asked Me To (Take 3A)
2. Loving Arms (Take 2)
3. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming (Take 4)
4. Spanish Eyes (Take 2)
LP2 - Side 4:
1. It's Midnight (Take 7)
2. Find Out What's Happening (Takes 8-7)
3. Three Corn Patches (Take 14)
4. My Boy (Take 1)

Customers Also Like