Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Legacy
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Elvis Presley Elvis: Back In Nashville 2LP

Elvis Presley

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Double LP!
Highlights From The 4CD Set Featuring Historic 1971 Sessions!
Newly Mixed Audio by Matt Ross-Spang!

RCA/Legacy commemorates the 50th Anniversary of Elvis Presley's final Nashville sessions with the release of Elvis: Back In Nashville. Back In Nashville features pristine original recordings capturing Elvis and his musicians live-in-the-studio laying down central tracks and performances intended for later release. These revelatory sessions chronicle the last time Elvis would record in Nashville. Some of Elvis' 1971 Nashville studio recordings appeared, with subsequent orchestral and vocal overdubs, on the seasonal collection Elvis Sings the Wonderful World Of Christmas (1971), the Grammy-winning gospel album He Touched Me (1972), Elvis Now (1972) and 1973's Elvis.

Like its predecessor, From Elvis In Nashville (released November 2020), Elvis: Back In Nashville is designed to showcase Elvis Presley and his core band as they sounded during the actual sessions without orchestral overdubs and vocal accompaniment. A key difference between Elvis' 1970 and 1971 Nashville sessions is that many of the 1971 recordings included backing singers; therefore, Elvis: Back In Nashville offers a variety of song performances both with and without vocal augmentation.

Given the prolific output of great recordings created by Elvis and his musicians during the fabled 1970 marathon sessions that may be heard on From Elvis In Nashville, RCA and the Elvis camp decided to stick with the winning combination of tight band, seasoned studio, well-chosen repertoire and relaxed spontaneous Elvis behind the microphone and, once again, record as much material as possible over a short period of time. With Elvis' upcoming concert activities increasing, future studio time would be limited and so the goal of these sessions was to generate perhaps a year's worth of new songs. RCA and the Colonel let Elvis know they'd like a new Christmas album, a gospel album, a pop album, and "several new singles for summer and fall releases" and so, Elvis' music coordinator/producer Felton Jarvis booked a whole week of all-night sessions starting March 15, 1971 and brought on the same band he'd used the year before.

Elvis Presley's return in 1970 to recording in Nashville had been revelatory. Those sessions, on the heels of his Memphis recordings and a return to the stage, had done more than simply sustain a comeback. They also introduced Elvis to a great new rhythm section and gifted Elvis with a great new sound. Bassist Norbert Putnam, drummer Jerry Carrigan, and pianist David Briggs had helped transform country music rhythms in the sixties after they transplanted their R&B-indebted style from F. A. M. E. studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, to Nashville session work. When producer Felton Jarvis teamed Elvis with the Muscle Shoals boys, along with session guitarist Chip Young, jack of all musical trades Charlie McCoy, and Presley's bandleader James Burton, they together created the belatedly acclaimed Elvis Country - in the process providing Elvis with a country-soul template he'd trace often in the last years of his life.

Music critic Dave Marsh once wrote that, even with his acclaim, "Elvis Presley was probably the most underrated singer of all." Overdubs removed, what's revealed on Elvis: Back In Nashville is some of the most compelling singing of Presley's career.

There may not be a better set of tracks in his catalog that benefits more from un-dubbing the masters. No longer weighted down, Elvis shines.


  • 50th Anniversary
  • Double LP
  • Original studio recordings, free of overdubs
  • Highlights from the Elvis: Back In Nashville 4CD set
  • Newly mixed audio by Matt Ross-Spang
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Insightful essay by producer Ernst Mikael Jorgensen


Side A - Pop:

  1. I'm Leavin' - take 1
  2. It's Only Love - take 9
  3. We Can Make The Morning - master with backing vocals
  4. Love Me, Love The Life I Lead - takes 5 & 6
  5. My Way take 3 (Master)

Side B - Country/Folk:

  1. Help Me Make It Through The Night - take 3
  2. Early Mornin' Rain - take 11
  3. Until It's Time For You To Go - remake
  4. Lady Madonna - impromptu performance
  5. (That's What You Get) For Lovin' Me - take 1
  6. I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen

Side C - Gospel:

  1. Seeing Is Believing
  2. An Evening Prayer - take 2
  3. I've Got Confidence - take 1
  4. Put Your Hand In The Hand
  5. He Touched Me - takes 1-2
  6. Bosom Of Abraham - takes 2-3

Side D - Christmas:

  1. If I Get Home On Christmas Day - take 3
  2. I'll Be Home On Christmas Day - take 4
  3. Holly Leaves And Christmas Trees - take 4
  4. Merry Christmas Baby - unedited

Customers Also Like