Emmylou Harris Stumble into Grace LP (Cream Color Vinyl)

Emmylou Harris

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

20th Anniversary Edition Cream Color Vinyl LP!
First Time Ever Released on Vinyl!

Emmylou Harris's second Nonesuch album, Stumble into Grace, was released on September 23, 2003. In celebration of its 20th anniversary, Nonesuch releases the album on vinyl for the first time, pressed on special cream-colored vinyl.

On this, her second consecutive album of original material, following her Nonesuch debut album, Red Dirt Girl, Harris is joined by guests like Linda Ronstadt, Kate and Anna McGarrigle, Gillian Welch, Jane Siberry, Buddy Miller, and Daniel Lanois.

Stumble into Grace was produced by Malcolm Burn, as was Red Dirt Girl. Like its predecessor and 1995's Wrecking Ball, which was engineered and mixed by Burn, Stumble into Grace shows Harris working in a sonic landscape far removed from the more traditional sound of her 1970s and '80s recordings—with her sophisticated songwriting adding an additional dimension to the music. As Newsweek says, "Her stellar voice takes on new depth when tied to songs this personal."

Harris's personal history is inscribed in Stumble into Grace via the participation of female artists from within her musical community. Longtime collaborator and friend Linda Ronstadt sings on "Strong Hand," which is dedicated to the late June Carter Cash. Kate and Anna McGarrigle co-wrote "Little Bird," as well as the traditional "Plaisir d'Amour"—and also join in on both songs' vocals—in a reciprocation of Harris's contribution to their celebrated album The McGarrigle Hour. "I Will Dream" features Jane Siberry, who also sings on "Lost Unto This World." Julie Miller sang on "Here I Am," and Jill Cuniff of Luscious Jackson co-wrote "Time in Babylon."

Shortly after the release of Stumble into Grace, Emmylou Harris participated in a cross-venue Carnegie Hall festival, for which she curated four concerts in the then-new, intimate Zankel Hall. The Zankel performances featured Steve Earle, Patty Griffin, Kate and Anna McGarrigle, and Buddy and Julie Miller; the mini-festival culminated with Harris's own performance in Carnegie's main stage, Stern Auditorium.

Her ethereal, crystalline voice hovers on a seam between the celestial and the gritty.
-The New York Times


  • 20th Anniversary
  • Cream Color Vinyl
  • First Time Ever on Vinyl


Side A:

  1. Here I Am
  2. I Will Dream
  3. Little Bird
  4. Time in Babylon
  5. Can You Hear Me Now

Side B:

  1. Strong Hand
  2. Jupiter Rising
  3. O Evangeline
  4. Plaisir d'Amour
  5. Lost Unto This World
  6. Cup of Kindness

Customers Also Like