Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WB Rhino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Eric Clapton Pilgrim 180g 2LP

Eric Clapton

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Double LP! Includes "My Father's Eyes", "River Of Tears", "Circus" & More!

Recorded at Olympic Studio in London in 1997, Pilgrim's 1998 release marked Clapton's first album of original material since 1989's Journeyman.

Working with Simon Climie, Clapton's wish was to record a sad album according to his autobiography. Two of the songs were written after his son died in 1991 - those songs are "My Father's Eyes" and "Circus". The album finds Clapton experimenting with drum machines, synthesizers, guitars, and strings reminiscent of R&B.

The Pilgrim song appears on the Lethal Weapon 4 soundtrack. Clapton and John Mayer resurrected the song "Broken Hearted" in 2005.

Much of Eric Clapton's haunting new (1998) album is informed by the smooth R&B textures of his 1996 collaboration with Kenneth 'Babyface' Edmonds, 'Change the World.' Yet Pilgrim is the work of someone who has learned in the hardest way imaginable that although he cannot change the world, he might be able to change himself. On Pilgrim we encounter a Clapton who is heartbroken but artistically reinvigorated, a guitar hero who knows too well that despite that flattering "Clapton Is God" graffiti of yore, he is entirely human.

"Pilgrim is easily Clapton's most ambitious, introspective piece of work since his days with the legendary, lacerating Derek and the Dominos. Paradoxically both slickly polished and surprisingly intimate, the album is a loosely themed soul-song cycle in the tradition of Marvin Gaye." - Rolling Stone, David Wild, February 25, 1998

• 180-Gram HQ Vinyl
• Double LP

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. My Father's Eyes
2. River Of Tears
3. Pilgrim
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Broken Hearted
2. One Chance
3. Circus

LP 2 - Side 1:
1. Going Down Slow
2. Fall Like Rain
3. Born In Time
4. Sick & Tired
LP 2 - Side 2:
1. Needs His Woman
2. She's Gone
3. You Were There
4. Inside Of Me

Customers Also Like