Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Everything But the Girl Temperamental Half-Speed Mastered 180g 2LP

Everything But The Girl

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

High Fidelity 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Half-Speed Mastered By Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios!

Everything But The Girl's ninth and final studio album Temperamental was first released in September 1999, and is reissued on May 8, 2020 on double vinyl complete with half-speed mastering by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios.

The album debuted at #16 on the UK Album Chart and peaked at #3 in Australia and #65 on the US Billboard 200, and went on to sell over 500,000 copies worldwide. Often seen as a companion piece to its million-selling predecessor Walking Wounded, it once again skilfully merged worlds contemporary electronic dance music and smart singer-songwriting, but was not without its production difficulties.

Working from the same template as before, the album was largely recorded at home by Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn in the summer of 1998 in familiar surroundings - synths, samplers, simple computer software, a microphone - with two tracks ending up as production collaborations: "Blame", made with drum 'n' bass DJ-producer Jamie Spratling (J Majik) at his home studio in Hertfordshire; and "The Future of the Future", which began life as an instrumental by Washington DC deep house producers, Deep Dish before Ben wrote a melody and lyrics for Tracey to sing.

Yet if the propulsive beats are undercut by a melancholy edge to the lyrics and sounds, it perhaps reflects the circumstances behind the album's evolution.

"It was on reflection, a difficult album to make," says Watt. "With the recent birth of our twin girls in 1998, I found myself constructing much of the album in isolation, with Tracey inevitably more pre-occupied with family life. It was much less collaborative than it should have been. I guess we were just moving in different mental spaces a lot of the time."

In spite of the strained recording process and a lukewarm reaction from a rock press tiring of electronica, the album was acclaimed in many quarters on its release. "Triumphant after-hours club pop" said Spin in an effusive full-page 9/10 lead review. "Entirely natural, wholly wonderful" said the Sunday Times. "The definitive dance album steeped in all things pop. Sublime and essential" commented Billboard, while Time Out offered, "If EBTG discovered nightlife late, it is one of their greatest strengths. Wide-eyed and wondrous."

Offering a longer view in 2019 - in a lengthy 20th year anniversary retrospective feature in The Quietus - Michael White said, "After 20 years it has aged very well ... I've explored the length and breadth of dance music as if it were my job, and I can't point to another album of its kind that so effectively bridges the divide between the deeply communal sound of the dance floor and the deeply private vocabulary of a mind in trouble."


  • High Fidelity 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Half-Speed Mastered By Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios


Side A:

  1. Five Fathoms
  2. Low Tide Of The Night
  3. Blame

Side B:

  1. Hatfield 1980
  2. Temperamental

Side C:

  1. Compression
  2. Downhill Racer
  3. Lullaby Of Clubland

Side D:

  1. No Difference
  2. The Future Of The Future (with Deep Dish)

Customers Also Like