Genre: Alternative
Label: Sub Pop


Father John Misty Chloe And The Next 20th Century 2LP

Father John Misty

$19.99 $29.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Indie Rock Icon's Fifth Album On Double LP!

2023 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical: Chloë and the Next 20th Century

Father John Misty returns with Chloë And The Next 20th Century, his fifth album and first new material since the release of God's Favorite Customer in 2018.

Chloë And The Next 20th Century was written and recorded August through December 2020 and features arrangements by Drew Erickson. The album sees Father John Misty - aka Josh Tillman - and producer/multi-instrumentalist Jonathan Wilson resume their longtime collaboration, with Dave Cerminara returning as engineer and mixer. Basic tracks were recorded at Wilson's Five Star Studios with strings, brass and woodwinds recorded at United Recordings in a session featuring Dan Higgins and Wayne Bergeron, among others.

Chloë And The Next 20th Century features the singles "Funny Girl", "Q4", "Goodbye Mr. Blue" and "Kiss Me (I Loved You)".

With earlier output, Misty (aka Josh Tillman) put his bile-dripping storytelling and darkly comical character sketches at the forefront of his songs, using instrumentation as an accessory for his scathing commentary and depraved character sketches. This took the form of epic, sometimes overblown production on 2017's Pure Comedy and stripped-down, vocals-forward rock on 2018's God's Favorite Customer. Chloë and the Next 20th Century, however, is a softer, more thoughtful reading on FJM's sound, toning down his often ugly observations by letting gorgeous orchestral arrangements and gently beautiful songwriting occupy equal space with his persona... While the arrangements on 2015's I Love You, Honeybear could be similarly grand at times, Father John Misty has never turned in anything as ambitious as the impeccable sonic tailoring of Chloë and the Next 20th Century. Fans who fell in love with Tillman's sharp social commentary will find plenty to hone in on, but the lush sounds take some of the bite out of his clever barbs and cynical perspectives on love and connection. Even with the strong, considered design of his previous albums, Father John Misty has never sounded so pleasant.
-Fred Thomas, AllMusic
...[W]hat's so impressive is the subtlety of [Misty's] control. The with silvery poise and high drama. The characters may be odious and dissolute, but the way Misty sings about them is delightful...
-Anna Gaca, Pitchfork


  • Double LP
  • Black Vinyl
  • Tip-on gatefold jacket
  • Custom dust sleeves
  • Insert


  1. Chloe
  2. Goodbye Mr. Blue
  3. Kiss Me (I Loved You)
  4. (Everything But) Her Love
  5. Buddy's Rendezvous
  6. Q4
  7. Olvidado (Otro Momento)
  8. Funny Girl
  9. Only A Fool
  10. We Could Be Strangers
  11. The Next 20th Century

Customers Also Like