Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Frank Sinatra The Concert Sinatra Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP

Frank Sinatra

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
MFSL 1-345

Out Of Print! Only a few copies left!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the October 2011 Issue of Stereophile!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Half-Speed Mastered From Original Master Tapes!

Frank Sinatra The Concert Sinatra on Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP from Mobile Fidelity

Nancy Sinatra on 1963 Studio Set: "THE Finest Collection of [Sinatra's] Career"

Paired With Nelson Riddle, Sinatra Achieves New Heights: Epic Arrangements, Gargantuan Orchestra

Half-Speed Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Wait Until You Hear the Dynamic Range

Just how good is Frank Sinatra's The Concert Sinatra? Take it from an expert no less than the Chairman's own daughter, Nancy, who in 2003, weighed in on the set by unequivocally stating: "THE finest collection of his career. With Dad's collection, it's always difficult to pick a favorite song but a favorite album is a slam-dunk. This is not only Dad's finest but one of the finest ever in the history of recorded music."

Miss Sinatra couldn't be more on-the-nose. Recorded onto 35mm film in 1963 at the Goldwyn Studios Soundstage, the record pairs the Voice with longtime collaborator Nelson Riddle and a gigantic orchestra. Consequently, the album's name refers not to a live performance but the music's epic grandness and the orchestra's huge size. Captured over four sessions in four days, the undertaking involved upwards of 60 musicians.

Thematically, half of the album features Rodgers and Hammerstein compositions while the other half also pulls from popular Broadway shows. True to the theatrical adage of leaving the audience wanting more, The Concert Sinatra will have every listener wishing it lasted forever. Everything here is utterly magnificent. Using his unparalleled breath control techniques and in the best voice of his career, Sinatra matches Riddle's sweeping arrangements, turning in resplendent performances that are as powerful, majestic, and dynamic as Riddle's surging instrumental support.

A number of pieces here — the delicate romanticism of "Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered" and tremendously poignant "Soliloquy" — are commonly cited by Sinatraphiles as among the greatest work Sinatra ever did. But nothing tops the definitive version of "Ol' Man River," revered for the way Sinatra holds the notes, phrases the syllables, and brings the standard's goosebump-inducing emotion to the fore. It's as perfect of a song as you will ever hear.

And hear it you will, with unprecedented clarity, transparency, and detail, on Mobile Fidelity's 180g LP. Mastering from the original tapes, Mobile Fidelity engineers realized how beloved The Concert Sinatra is to music listeners around the world. They invested tremendous care and effort in maximizing every opportunity to draw as much richness, verve, and range as possible from the source material.

So whether you have a later-era 1970s LP pressing, any of the CD versions (including the 2009 remaster), or even a rare 1960s original LP, this edition is the one to own. And if you don't own a copy — well, here's your chance to experience what's possibly the greatest pop album ever made. Prepare to have shivers run down your spine.

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Half-Speed Production and Mastering by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
• Specially Plated and Pressed on 180 grams of High Definition Vinyl
• Special Static Free - Dust Free Inner Sleeve
• Heavy Duty Protective Packaging
• Mastered from the Original Master Tapes

1. I Have Dreamed (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II)
2. My Heart Stood Still (Rodgers, Lorenz Hart)
3. Lost in the Stars (Maxwell Anderson, Kurt Weill)
4. Ol' Man River (Hammerstein, Jerome Kern)
5. You'll Never Walk Alone (Rodgers, Hammerstein)
6. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered (Rodgers, Hart)
7. This Nearly Was Mine (Rodgers, Hammerstein)
8. Soliloquy (Rodgers, Hammerstein

Customers Also Like