Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention Freak Out! 180g 2LP

Frank Zappa

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180 Gram Vinyl Double LP! Re-mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Freak Out! is the debut album by American band The Mothers of Invention, released June 27, 1966 on Verve Records. Often cited as one of rock music's first concept albums, the album is a satirical expression of frontman Frank Zappa's perception of American pop culture. It was also one of the earliest double albums in rock music (although Bob Dylan's Blonde on Blonde preceded it by a week), and the first 2-record debut.

Mothers Of Invention changed from an R&B covers band to performing Zappa's original material when he joined the group. Freak Out! contains a range of musical styles from R&B, doo wop, and blues-influenced rock to orchestral arrangements and avant-garde sounds.

In 1999, the album was honored with the Grammy Hall of Fame Award, and in 2003, Rolling Stone ranked it among the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

"A master guitarist and provocateur, Frank Zappa made more than 60 albums, but the first was perhaps the most groundbreaking. The double disc declared the arrival of a visionary weirdo who dabbled in doo-wop, pop-song parody, protest tunes, art rock and avant-garde classical." -

Back home where it belongs, the music of Frank Zappa is back in the hands of the Zappa Family Trust. To celebrate, the estate signed a global license and distribution deal with Universal Music Enterprises to release 60 of the iconic composer's recordings.

"The artist and composer, Frank Zappa, is one of the most important and influential artists in music history with his prolific body of work, including his breakthrough rock 'n roll concept albums... We intend to honor him and bring high quality releases for... for his new and longtime fans," said Bruce Resnikoff, President/CEO, Universal Music Enterprises (UME).

The UME deal includes the entire Zappa Catalog as it appeared on Frank Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records. Many of the original analog masters have been re-mastered for this occasion.

Zappa was posthumously inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1995 and received the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 1997.

• 180g Double Vinyl
• Re-mastered From Digital Transfer by FZ/Bob Stone of the Original 1966 1/4" Analog Stereo Tape Master
• Re-mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Gatefold Jacket

LP 1

1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
2. I Ain't Got No Heart
3. Who Are the Brain Police?
4. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder
5. Motherly Love
6. How Could I Be Such A Fool?
7. Wowie Zowie
8. you Didn't Try To Call Me
9. Any Way the Wind Blows
10. I'm Not Satisfied
11. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here
LP 2
1. Trouble Every Day
2. Help, I'm A Rock (Suite in Three Movements)
I. Okay To Tap Dance
II. In Memoriam, Edgar Varese
III. It Can't Happen Here
3. The Return Of the Son of Monster Magnet (Unfinished ballet in Two Tableaux)
I. Ritual Dance of the Child Killers
II. Nullis Pretii (No Commercial Potential)

Customers Also Like