Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Zappa
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


Frank Zappa Zappa '80: Mudd Club 180g 45rpm 2LP

Frank Zappa

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Audiophile 45rpm 180g Double LP!
Mastered by Bernie Grundman!

Analog Planet Rated 8/10 Music, 7/10 Sonics!

During the Spring/Summer tour of 1980, Frank Zappa played a set at his favorite NYC nightclub – the famous Mudd Club. Zappa adored the place and even wrote a song dedicated to it.

The complete performance is included on two 45rpm 180g audiophile vinyl LP's and mastered by Bernie Grundman, 2022.

Package features photography and memoir from George Alper, who worked for FZ and was at the event, along with liner notes from Arthur Barrow, Steve Vai and Vaultmeister Joe Travers.

Borrowing some Deadhead taper terminology, this is effectively a pretty great audience recording, and that makes it about as pure a high-fidelity listening experience as could be hoped for here, even though the microphone locations were probably not optimal. One can only imagine what the SPLs were like in that tiny space, with this band firing on all cylinders! Given its analog/Nagra DNA, it made sense to have this vinyl spinning at 45rpm to deliver as much of that fat club ambiance as possible. Audiophiles who appreciate this sort of ambiance-flavored recording will get a kick out of the natural feel of the instruments, the room-filling bass and the punch of the kick drum that cuts through as clearly as the hi-hat's sizzle. And, of course, Zappa's guitar tone is off the hook at points. When he kicks in for his solo on 'Outside Now' at the end of Side 1, I can only imagine the sonic blast the folks in the first few rows of the club must have felt!
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 8/10, Sound 7/10


  • Official Release #125A
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • 45rpm
  • Recorded Live at the Mudd Club - New York, NY, May 8, 1980
  • Mastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, 2022
  • Source: 192K24B WAV of Original 1/4" Analog NAGRA Tape
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Photography & Memoir by George Alper
  • Liner Notes by Arthur Barrow, Steve Vai & Joe Travers
  • Made in Germany


Side 1:

  1. Mudd Club Show Start
  2. Chunga's Revenge
  3. Keep It Greasy
  4. Outside Now

Side 2:

  1. City of Tiny Lites (Edited)
  2. Pound for a Brown
  3. You Are What You Is

Side 3:

  1. You Didn't Try to Call Me
  2. I Ain't Got No Heart
  3. Love of My Life
  4. Easy Meat

Side 4:

  1. Mudd Club
  2. The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing
  3. Joe's Garage
  4. Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?

Customers Also Like