Genre: Classical
Label: MPS Records
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Friedrich Gulda Message From G Numbered Limited Edition 180g 6LP Box Set

Friedrich Gulda

$99.99 $199.99
(You save $100.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Numbered Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 6LP Box Set!  Analogue Remastering (AAA)!
Pressed at Optimal Media GmbH in Germany!  Pure Analogue Transfer to the Lacquer Master!

Pianist Friedrich Gulda, along with Ursula Anders on drums, performs compositional works by Bach, Mozart and Debussy and more.

The album entitled Message from G that was released in 1979 on the MPS label embodies more than any other the visionary creativity of the composer and pianist Friedrich Gulda. On the album, he traces the paths of the great masters, Bach, Mozart and Debussy, whose works he plays – works which then provide him with the most diverse of inspirations for his own compositions – long before classical music opened up to other influences.

"My aim in remastering “Message from G” was not to change anything in the recordings of the three concerts of 1978; not to adapt them to today’s listening habits or to modify them; on the contrary, the aim was to capture that special beauty of musicality and tone and to achieve a sound as close to the original recordings as possible. To that end, the master tape was comprehensively reworked: on the one hand by careful selection and the finest calibration of the tape equipment and the subsequent signal chain, and on the other hand by making very sensitive adjustments to the frequency range and the amplitude level. The theoretical basis for this was, among other things, an original vinyl disc that I used frequently for comparison purposes. We worked exclusively with analogue technology to produce the re-release. Despite an intensive search, the original master tapes of LP 1, B-side – “For Rico”, “Italian Concerto”, “Aria” (Version 1) and LP 3, B-side “Sonata in B flat major”, “Aria” (Version 2) – were not to be found either in the MPS Archives in Villingen as backup copies or in the original tape archives and must therefore be considered as lost." - Producer's Comment: Christoph Stickel

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Analogue remastering (AAA)
• 6LP Box Set
• 180g Virgin Vinyl
• Pressed at Optimal Media GmbH in Germany
• True to the Original configuration: Records in original edition style of MPS adaptation of the original LP, vinyl labels modeled from the originals
• Removal of all traces of aging from the original MPS tapes, meticulous analog optimizing of the tapes. Strict adherence to the sound aesthetics of the era
• Pure analogue transfer to the lacquer master
• Liner notes include remastering info & pictures of the original master tape boxes

Friedrich Gulda, piano

First Concert:

1. Chromatic Fantasy And Fugue (Bach)
2. Arabic-Gipsyish Fantasy (Gulda)
3. Prelude And Fugue from the Well-Tempered Clavier, Part II, in D minor (Bach)
4. For Rico (Gulda)
5. Italian Concerto (Bach)
6. Aria - Version I (Gulda)
7. Introduction And Dance (Gulda)
8. For Paul (Gulda)
9. Variations (Gulda)
10. Prelude And Fugue (Gulda)
11. Variations on "Light My Fire" (Gulda)
Second Concert:
12. Blues for Joe Venuti (Gulda)
13. Fantasy in D minor (Mozart)
14. Fantasy in C minor (Mozart)
15. Sonata in B-flat Major
16. Aria - Version II (Gulda)
17. Selbstgesprach im Kasgraben (Gulda)
18. Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir (Debussy)
19. Ondine (Debussy)
20. La terrasse des audiences du claire du lune (Debussy)
21. Brouillards (Debussy)
22. Poem (Pauer, Gulda, Anders, Kiwus, Fuchs)
Third Concert:
Besuch vom alten G (Gulda / Goeth / Anders)

23. Part I
24. Part I (cont.)
25. Part II
26. Part II (conclusion)

Customers Also Like